Master and slave problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2006, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 198
Default Master and slave problem

Alright, so basically the problem is I can't start up my computer because of an installation freeze... now that I got a new xp cd it won't even start up... And for some reason now, the 160 which is suppose to be the slave is now the master... and the 120 gig which is the slave is suppose to be the master... I tried switching up the wires but that didn't work... any help?
__________________

NurthinAziz is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 05:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

What happens if you boot from the XP CD?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 05:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 198
Default

Nothing I inserted the disc but it just stays Boot From CD or whatever it says and it stays there >.<
NurthinAziz is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 05:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 85
Default

Try going into the bios and moving the first boot device as the CD, see if that can help
AT2005 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 08:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 198
Default

Yeah, did that... just says at the same screen sayin' Booting From CD or somethin' like that
NurthinAziz is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 11:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Switch the pin jumpers on the rear of the drives. Put the 120 as master and the 160 as slave I think you have them on cable select.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 07:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

It really shouldn't matter which one is Slave and Master. They are both the same, it's just a name.

Try disconnecting one of the disks.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 03:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 198
Default

Yeah, I've tried disconnecting the discs... tried to disconnect the 160 but then the 120 is still the slave... it's wierd.
NurthinAziz is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 11:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NurthinAziz
Yeah, I've tried disconnecting the discs... tried to disconnect the 160 but then the 120 is still the slave... it's wierd.
The 120 will stay slave as long as the jumper on that disk is set to slave. But that shouldn't matter at all.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 12:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 198
Default

Basically my problem now is that the 160 isn't showing as a 160 gig hard drive... it says it's a 136 or whatever gig hard drive. And my problem is basically booting from the CD 'cause it won't boot
__________________

NurthinAziz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.