Major HDD problmes - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2005, 06:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

that will be very annoying, as ill have to get some new optical drives. the HDD isnt such an issue as its old and only has windowsa and a few programs on it.
i just find it a bit coincidental that they all died at the same time and *whilst* i was isntalling a new component. im guessing and thing with the PSU would have to be a drastic problem and wouldnt happen without me knowticing. so im wondering what could have caused it.
__________________

Harkonan is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 06:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Did you ground yourself before wokring on the computer? Static electricity is the enemy of all repair attempts. I not only gorund myself but wear thin rubber gloves (you can buy them at the auto parts store for $12 for 100 pair!!) to prevent component a failure do static discharge. It doesn't take much to destroy a HD/CDrom controller chip, mobo, or other plug in component board!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 06:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

im a real bad boy for that stuff. never do it, even though i know i should.
what would i have had to touch on the CD drives to kill em with static?
Harkonan is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 10:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

The controller boards, for example: here are the results of IDE 0 and IDE1 use of HD's. This relates only to XP as that is the system I tested. You can only use a hd with an 80 wire IDE cable. If the drive is the master on the secondary IDE channel, the system finds it but the optical drive CD/DVD goes bye bye and the HD is not accessable. If you put the HD in as a slave the system finds the drive but it is not accessable and the optical master is. If you use cable select, same deal. I removed the upper and lower filters in each case and NADA........no readable HD could be found on the secondary IDE channel. Verdict: No soap.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 12:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Default

heres what the guy in question has to say about it.

[16:55] -: Sky~hog:- . (dodgy Connection): can you give me a direct account of how you three HDD drives are pluged in?
[16:59] Úlliot° ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ âlu€arD: umm
[16:59] Úlliot° ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ âlu€arD: ok
[17:00] Úlliot° ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ âlu€arD: 1 spinpoint in slave, 1 maxtor on master both plugged into port 1 on mobo
[17:00] Úlliot° ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ âlu€arD: maxtor 2 plugged into master and cd drive plugged into slave on port 2 on mobo

im certain its working on his, thou this may be mobo varabul.
im 90% certain that ive killed the drives now, and ive got another one from my dad to see if i can get it to work.
ill let you know how that goes.
__________________

Harkonan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.