Mac LaCie HUB not showing up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2010, 12:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Default Mac LaCie HUB not showing up

I have a macbook and a G4, both of which used to run fine with My LaCie 300GB HUB, recently however, both have failed to show up on both the desktop and on any other area of either computer.

Additional info: I have a printer hooked up to the hub, and both computers print through it, it's just the hard drive in it I can't access.

The HUB used to show up, randomly, usually on reboot before it completely failed to show up.

the older G4 is running MAC OS X version 10.4.11

the Macbook is 10.6.3

neither computers work

HUB is fairly new.

NEW: Hard drive isn't spinning up! it turns on for not quite a second clicks, dies, and retries. Like it's stuck hitting something
__________________

helshanks is offline  
Old 04-11-2010, 04:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: England
Posts: 59
Default Re: Mac LaCie HUB not showing up

Sounds like you hard disk is dead then.

If it's what I would describe as a 'click-clunking' noise then it is most likely that the heads have crashed on your hard disk.

It's possible that the power supply on the Lacie unit has failed and is not providing enough power to the hard disk so it can't spin up properly. We had a similar issue at work the other week with a Lacie drive where it appeared to be dead - we took the hard disk out of the Lacie box and put it in a generic external hard disk enclosure and the hard disk spun up so and we could retrieve all the data on it so there was clearly an issue with the Lacie enclosure in our case.
__________________

Fazza is offline  
Old 04-11-2010, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Mac LaCie HUB not showing up

Fazza is correct. It's most likely the hard drive's heads.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-12-2010, 08:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 70
Default Re: Mac LaCie HUB not showing up

Just to cover everything. Does your hard drive run off USB power or have an external power supply. If it's purely powered by the USB socket, just plug it directly into the computer with no other USB devices and see if its detected. There is a possibility that it isn't getting enough power, so isn' spinning up properly and stopping.

Also try on another computer. If that fails as well then its probably a dead hard drive
__________________
Engineers know everything about nothing. Architects know nothing about everything.
Does that mean I'm an Engineering Architect, or an Architectural Engineer???

My non techie tech blog

13" MBP 2.26/4/160, iMac 3.06/4/500, Almost vintage PMG4
koinonas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
Lacie External Hard drive won't mount in Mac after PC install noeltaylor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 03-16-2009 04:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.