M4A78 BIOS CHECKSUM Error! BOARD IS DEAD! HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2011, 09:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default M4A78 BIOS CHECKSUM Error! BOARD IS DEAD! HELP!

Not sure if this should be in the software room or what.

I had one of my old boards laying around. It's an M4a78 Pro AMD board. I have used it before and as it seems, my stuff only works well with ME and no one else.

Anyway.. We installed the board and an older Phenom 9950 I had. He had the board running for a couple hours, but now it won't even post. Can't get into the BIOS, nothing. We have to KEEP resetting the CMOS to get it to run for only a couple minutes before it blue screens. Misc errors on the BSOD.

Now he's getting a checksum error. He's a programmer, but he's been out of this game for a LONG time so this board is new to him. He's thinking bad BIOS. How do we do a FW update if it won't post? I knnow this has AMD Live where it has been VERY easy to update the BIOS. But if it won't post.......... What the heck??

He was mixing RAM before thinking it was bad ram. I told him to just stick ONE new 1066 2G Kingston stick in DIMM 1A and try to run it just for diag purposes.

There's just been nothing but drama with this board..

Ideas?? bad CPU?
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: M4A78 BIOS CHECKSUM Error! BOARD IS DEAD! HELP!

Could be a busted CMOS. RIP...

Getting a used board of that age shouldnt be hard to get on eBay.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 10:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Comal County, TX
Posts: 8
Default Re: M4A78 BIOS CHECKSUM Error! BOARD IS DEAD! HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antec-User View Post
my stuff only works well with ME and no one else.
Mein Gott, for a moment I thought you were talking about "ME" as in "Windows ME."

Anyway, I've had the exact same problem a couple of times before (at least according to how I'm reading your post) and in one case I had a faulty CMOS battery; in the other, believe it or not, I had forgotten to remove the CMOS clear jumper. Doh! It's surprising how easy it is to overlook little details like that, n'est-ce pas?
Archaeanimus is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: M4A78 BIOS CHECKSUM Error! BOARD IS DEAD! HELP!

He said it's not taking a BIOS upgrade..

CMOS/CLR_RTC jumper is fine. No update on the battery idea yet.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 10:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: M4A78 BIOS CHECKSUM Error! BOARD IS DEAD! HELP!

I've been reading on a thread I found that it's bad BIOS. But there's a SLIM chance that the BIOS chip may be in an actual socket. There's a change the BIOS chip can be easily replaced. This is a budget build for my buddy, so he wasn't really even wanting to spend more than $40 for RAM. So a new or reconditioned board for ~$70 may be out of the question.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 11:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: M4A78 BIOS CHECKSUM Error! BOARD IS DEAD! HELP!

He's got a new BIOS chip on the way. $6. Cheap gamble. It's in an actual socket, so we can take it out to replace it.

The board finally took a BIOS flash, but it is still randomly not posting and freezing. The 9950 is on the supported CPU list for this board. Should we leave it with the newer BIOS, or roll it back to an older one? I'm not sure it will matter, but I'm wondering.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 05:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: M4A78 BIOS CHECKSUM Error! BOARD IS DEAD! HELP!

New Bios chip and still no post...

What gives??
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 06:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: M4A78 BIOS CHECKSUM Error! BOARD IS DEAD! HELP!

make sure you didn't damage the pins or contacts when you removed the old chip.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 07:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: M4A78 BIOS CHECKSUM Error! BOARD IS DEAD! HELP!

^ Does the new chip need to be flashed? he says it's just dead black.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 08:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: M4A78 BIOS CHECKSUM Error! BOARD IS DEAD! HELP!

It probably needs to be updated but it should have a bios system on it already. I don't know how you can flash it without it being preprogrammed as it has to be able to identify a drive with data on it in order to be flashed.

A bios chip is really sensitive, it needs to be installed static and dust free, with absolutely no power connected to the system. It has to be oriented correctly and fully seated. I've always had problems getting the old chip out without damaging the socket. I've tried to replace the bios chip a few times with more failures than successes, I've found it easier and less time consuming to just buy a new mobo.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A8N-E (asus) BSOD - bios rom checksum error psyck0 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-07-2006 06:57 AM
help.. ::Apple:: hardware... power supply dead? or cpu board dead? help anyone? bobnewhart Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-10-2005 06:07 AM
bios checksum error callaweii Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 03-04-2005 09:34 PM
Bios rom checksum error Killer86 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 06-22-2004 04:16 PM
Bios ROM checksum error TheBestEVER Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 12-16-2003 11:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.