Low Fps x1900xt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2006, 01:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default Low Fps x1900xt

Ok i just bought a new x1900xt along with a new mobo and power supply. When i try to play css i get 20 to 40fps on high and 40 to 60 with everything on low. My old 9800 pro got 80- 120 with mostly high settings.

Pc Specs:

amd 3200+ 64bit
Lanparty UT cfx3200 mobo
2x 512 xms corssair memory
120gb wd hard drive
600w fsp epsilon psu
ati x1900xt

I dont know why im getting bad fps but if someone could help i wold appriciate it. Thankyou Burnout
__________________

burnout is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 07:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

run driver cleaner pro, and install new drivers

try the Omega drivers, or another tweaked version
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?id=24
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 12:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Hmm, do you have the 6 pin plugin in the GPU, I know that if you forget that step the card can be extremely slow and sluggish.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 04:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Well i figured it out. It was my memory. I had the sticks in 1 and 2 but for dual channel they had to be in 1 and 3. But i only get about 80-120 fps. Im not gettimg much more than my 9800pro. A few settings are higher but still shouldnt i be getting like 200 or more.
burnout is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Not so far as what I know, as far as I know your card just renders it better not exactly faster.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 235
Default

you had the sticks in the wrong slots??? How did you find out that you had to position them in a certain way to enable dual channel?
__________________

plant is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.