Low FPS on games, new computer! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2006, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Unhappy Low FPS on games, new computer!

I just got a new computer, and I'm getting really low frame rates. It would jump up and down, like go up when I'm inside the building, and it would go down when I'm outside the building. I've tried everything, installing newer drivers, re-installing the games, etc... But unfortunatley(sp?) this is a used computer, which I bought from my brother, and he lost the discs for the hardware.

Intel Pentium 4 CPU, 3 ghz
1 GB of ram
Nvidia Geforce 6600 GT
Asus P4S800

Please help me!
__________________

BubbaBubby is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Well what are the FPS? It will go down outside by as there is more to render.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 06:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Well, before I reformatted the computer, it was getting a steady 60-100 FPS at all times. Now the FPS drops down to 10-20 and goes back up to 50-60.
BubbaBubby is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 06:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 512
Default

I've got roughly the same spec as you and I get about 30-40fps playing HL2 or CS:S on high settings. If your inside the frame rate will go up because there isn't alot to render compared to outside which has loads of things to render. It all depends what game you are playing but I found that upgrading my ram to 2gb helped out loads.
__________________

Life is too important to be taken seriously - Oscar Wilde
Metr01973 is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

1. What games are you playing?

2. Are they on max settings with a high resolution. Your 6600GT wont be able to handle higher resolutions with high/highest settings on newer games

3. Do you know what detail levels your games were on before the format? (low, mid, high, max. etc.)
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 12:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Į\_(ツ)_/Į
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

OK. You reformatted the computer... Did you download and install ALL the drivers for your mobo afterwards?

You may also want to look for the drivers of anything else on/in your computer (sound, graphics, etc.).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 01:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Check the device manager to see if there are any devices that have a '?' next to them. If there are, you need to install the drivers for them.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.