loud gfx fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2006, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default loud gfx fan

i have an agp pny 6600gt, it has a very loud fan and i was wondering if there was a program i could use to make the fan slower, also i cant see the gfx card temperature in pcwizard and was wondering if a bios upgrade for the card would do anything
__________________

OatesyX is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Maybe you can replace the stock heatsink and fan with an aftermarket one, like Zalman. I too cannot see the temperature of my gfx card in pcwizard or other programs...I was told my gfx card doesn't have a sensor.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 01:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

apparently all nvidia cards 6series and up ahve sensors, some are just disabled,(theres a bios mod out there for it ), i got my temperature visible on my moms computer :S, dont know why,, as for getting a new heatsink and fan, not an option,,, i spend enough to get the comp working and im selling it not keepin it so i aint spening anymore money on it,, thanks for the input though
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

thats the price you have to pay for good setup though lol my 7900 GT sounds like a cd drive is running all the time. all i can think is that there is an option in the bios but last time i checked some companies disabled this feature.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.