Loud computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

iceblade42k

Solid State Member
Over the past week or so (getting colder- winter), my PC noise has been getting louder and louder (AMD 1800). There are 2 fans in my PC (motherboard+powerpack). The powerpack was replaced 6months ago, and I still remembered it being quite loud regardless. (can be heard next in the room) Any reasons/suggestions to reduce the noise of my PC? (obvious answer is to remove the fans, but I am still a beginner in computer hardware)

P.S - Why are the ones at work dead silent even though they are 2.4ghz?

You can go with watercooling if you can afford it. Or you can use those vibration dampeners. I don't know how well they work but those are a few suggestions I can think of.

its called "case" not "powerpack" , open the case and listen closly to determine what fan is the noisy one , and just get a new silent one (with 30dba or less noise level) , fans dont have "ghz" or "mhz" , they have rpm/cfm/dba thats about it

Re:

Hello,

...most probably meant Power Supply Unit...

Might be your fans...and if so you'll know it's coming from them. However, the system should lower the speed of your fans if it's cool enough.

Do you know what your temperatures are? You might be able to check in the BIOS. However, the AMD Athlon XP processors don't have onboard temperature sensors on the chip so it depends on whether your motherboard has one near the socket.

Anways...you can download SpeedFan from http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php and if it can detect any sensors on your motherboard, then it will give you temperatures of the CPU, Hard Drives, overall system, as well as tell you how many Revolutions Per Minute your fans are rotating at.

If you find the temperature and RPM numbers, either in your BIOS or using SpeedFan, post them here.