Loud computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 06-01-2006, 08:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Loud computer

Over the past week or so (getting colder- winter), my PC noise has been getting louder and louder (AMD 1800). There are 2 fans in my PC (motherboard+powerpack). The powerpack was replaced 6months ago, and I still remembered it being quite loud regardless. (can be heard next in the room) Any reasons/suggestions to reduce the noise of my PC? (obvious answer is to remove the fans, but I am still a beginner in computer hardware)

P.S - Why are the ones at work dead silent even though they are 2.4ghz?

Old 06-01-2006, 10:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus

You can go with watercooling if you can afford it. Or you can use those vibration dampeners. I don't know how well they work but those are a few suggestions I can think of.

3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

Old 06-01-2006, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie

its called "case" not "powerpack" , open the case and listen closly to determine what fan is the noisy one , and just get a new silent one (with 30dba or less noise level) , fans dont have "ghz" or "mhz" , they have rpm/cfm/dba thats about it
Old 06-01-2006, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie

he might be referring to Power Supply
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
Old 06-01-2006, 02:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie

Default Re:

Hello,

...most probably meant Power Supply Unit...

Might be your fans...and if so you'll know it's coming from them. However, the system should lower the speed of your fans if it's cool enough.