LOTS of problems after installing video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2006, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default LOTS of problems after installing video card

Well, I just recieved my second 7800gt to go along with my other for SLI and I've had nothing but trouble since putting it in. For one thing, after putting in the card, I couldn't turn on the computer! I didn't mess with anything BUT I do remember accidently taking a cable out when trying to fit the PCI-E 6 pin connector to my video card. It couldn't have been the power supply so I booted up the computer manually with the manual power up button on the mobo.

So I power it up and just a few moments later, I get an error saying "Disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter". Now when I try to open both my CD drives, neither of them open! The light turns on and it makes this weird "buggy" noise and it just won't open. I have no idea what the problem is and why this is happening. Could it be the graphics card I just added in? I doubt it though as how could it cause so many different problems?

Well I'm real stuck here and could use some help. Thank you all in advance.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 05:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

1. You could have disconnected some cables to IDE drives (cd/dvd)
2. Is the card you SLId the same brand and has the same ammount of RAM as your other card?
3. Could be either an overclock problem (did you OC your old card before putting the new one in?) or a RAM problem (is the RAM on the 2 cards running at the same intervals?)
4. Are you sure everything properly connected?
5. Sometimes Windows detects some minor/major changes with changing of hardware in your PC. You may want to check that your windows copy is still valid.
6. Up to date drivers and SLI support?
7. Enough cooling?
8. Power being shared properly, enough for rest of system?
9. Any other software that may be disrupting your SLI?
10. Virus?

just a checklist...
__________________

p0lska is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 10:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

1. You could have disconnected some cables to IDE drives (cd/dvd)
2. Is the card you SLId the same brand and has the same ammount of RAM as your other card?
3. Could be either an overclock problem (did you OC your old card before putting the new one in?) or a RAM problem (is the RAM on the 2 cards running at the same intervals?)
4. Are you sure everything properly connected?
5. Sometimes Windows detects some minor/major changes with changing of hardware in your PC. You may want to check that your windows copy is still valid.
6. Up to date drivers and SLI support?
7. Enough cooling?
8. Power being shared properly, enough for rest of system?
9. Any other software that may be disrupting your SLI?
10. Virus?

1. I unplugged and replugged all the cables to the IDE drives
2. Yes
3. Never OC'd before
4. I made sure everything is connected but the one cable I unplugged, I'm not sure if I put it back in the right place
5. Hmm ...maybe this is the problem but it is hard to believe Windows would be the problem with my computer booting up. Yes, I have an ungenuine Windows because people at a PC shop replaced mine for their illegal copy.
6. Yes, I made sure the SLI NF4 was set to SLI, connected the SLI bridge, and both cards are securely put in the right place.
7. Should be enough cooling.
8. Antec 550w psu ...should be good enough to distribute power throughout whole system and I tried booting with and without the 2nd card so that can't be a problem.
9. Don't think so.
10. Doubt it.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 11:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default

If you take the new card out does the PC work?
__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 11:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

I already tried that, it still had the same problem.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.