lots of problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2006, 09:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Default lots of problems

im no noob, but somethings up with my computer.
first, i cant seem to remove a few programs for good. Mcafee and windows media player both messed up so i tried uninstalling but it wudnt work so i did registry deletions and some parts are undeleteable and eventually become undeleted and pop back in there.
second, my browser is messed. i had mcafee for a week, didnt like it cuz it lagged so i deleted it (or tried to) and still its messed. i lost the ability to get redirected to a new url, and some parts of pages dont even load up (like entry forms, certain graphics, etc)

this is the most messed up i have ever seen my comp

what do i do?
__________________

mendozer is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 02:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

You could try system restore if its on. Otherwise backup all important data, reformat and reinstall windows would do the trick. Have you checked for viruses and spyware and have you defragged and ran a scandisk?
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 05:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Default

system restore wont even open up. not even in safe mode. if i do have a virus, it was a **** good one that went on before i got my new antivirus (zonelabs). i really do not want to reinstall windows since i did that 3 months ago what would defragging HD do? ill try it tomorrow tho.

ill keep posting my results
mendozer is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 12:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default

pfft 3 month i've done it 3 times in the last 2 days... true that was due to some dodgy drivers but still.. if you have the means to back up everything just reinstall windows i'd say its the easy way out...
gazvenn is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 12:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

You can't uninstall Windows Media Player since it is integrated into the Operating System So I would try reinstalling it to try and fix any broken/orphaned registry keys.

As far as your McAfee is concerned, if using the Add/Remove Programs applet doesnt work you can remove it manually.

McAfee provides instructions on doing that and can be found here.

Let us know how it goes.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 01:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Default

i tried reinstalling it but the same popup occured. since my internet browsers ****ed too i guess i have to reinstall windows. when i get home ill try that link for mcafee
mendozer is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 04:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro
You could try system restore if its on. Otherwise backup all important data, reformat and reinstall windows would do the trick.
The fix all!! You have already spent twice as long trying to repair this then it would take to do a fresh install!!
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 05:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mendozer
system restore wont even open up. not even in safe mode. if i do have a virus, it was a **** good one that went on before i got my new antivirus (zonelabs). i really do not want to reinstall windows since i did that 3 months ago what would defragging HD do? ill try it tomorrow tho.

ill keep posting my results
were you having problems with graphics and such loading on a webpage before or after you installed zone alarm? i have the zone alarm security suite and it blocks certain images on webpages. you have to mess with the settings to stop it from doing that.
worrwhorre is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Default

it was messed before too. im gunna rinstall this weekend i guess...dammit
mendozer is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Default

k i reinstalled all my stuff. but now after updating and everything my comps super slow and laggy. like scrolling in programs (including internet) is very slow and jerky, and i have cable. i checked for defragging but i dont need to. i did spyware scans, etc still super slow. so wtf
__________________

mendozer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.