Lost all sound - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2006, 10:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default Lost all sound

Alright so I purchased a new fancy case that lights up and what not. Tonight I decided to transfer the contents from my old cast to the new one. Everything went flawlessly, I'm pretty knowledgeable on this stuff as I have built my own computer. So when I went to go boot up everything was fine, the new fans I bought light up, it booted up fine although when I went to go play a song I had no sound. I find this weird because I have onboard sound on my motherboard. First I tried reinstalling the drivers form the motherboard CD with no luck. Then I tried a couple different sets of speakers and no luck there. Can anyon help me out here? I can't understand why my sound would go out form just xfering the guts to another case. I dont have a sound card on me so I cant try that.

P.S. No its not on mute and yes the green cord is pluged into the green plug lol.
__________________

morrty is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 10:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

could have gotten damaged durring the switch by ESD or something try going to a hardware store and picking up a soundcard. this happened to me as a matter of fact and i just decided to buy my audigy 2.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default

Ack, I sure hope it didn't, It wasnt my computer

Thx for the reply, Ill try this if noone else has any suggestions.

P.S. I was pretty careful about that, I rested the MOBO on anti-staic bags and what not when setting these pieces down
morrty is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 02:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
STATus h2O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fayetteville, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to STATus h2O
Default

Have you tried un-installing and re-installing the onboard sound device? Go into the BIOS and just double check that the onboard sound is enabled as well. Hmm, I would be willing to think that during the case transaction ESD go a hold of it...possibly?
__________________
<P><a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/1236/e6600vm1.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4116/88002cw3.jpg" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9990/uprstrancefan2gi8.gif" border="0"></a>
<a href="http://userbars.org"><img src="http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2838/winamp2cu9.png" border="0"></a>

<I>IM me on AIM @</I> <B>STATus H2o</B>
STATus h2O is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 11:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default

Check the bios and make sure everything is the way it is supposed to be. Also make sure the onboard sound is not disabled.
Saint71 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 11:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

when u moved it, bat is prob low, so bios reset...
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 02:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Default

I'm having the exact same problem. Morrty, have you sorted it out yet?

I've tried resetting the CMOS and reinstalling the onboard drivers, both without success. Next step is buying a PCI sound card.
euchrid is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 07:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

ok, heres a possible solutions, on every mobo there are pins for front audio ports on a case, if your case doesnt have front audio there will be 2 jumpers set in the pins on the mobo, if those jumpers arent there BAM no audio even though everything is installed properly, make sure those jumpers are in or front audio ports are conected properly, refer to your manual, it will probably say what im saying
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 10:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Default

In my instance, the audio jacks on the front of the case don't connect directly to the motherboard; instead, they have two plugs like the ones that come from headphones or speakers, which are apparently meant to be threaded out the back of the case and into the jacks on the back. Silly idea if you ask me.

Anyway, this means that the pins which were previously connected to the front jacks are now bare. Should they have jumpers on them somewhere? The manual doesn't mention such a thing - you can find a digital copy of it here:

http://www.biostar.com.tw/products/m...PL-A7%20PCI-ED

, if you're feeling really helpful. It's the JAUDIOF1 header that I'm talking about.
euchrid is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 01:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

sorry man, couldnt make sense of that mobo manual, id says your proplem is originating from there though
__________________

__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.