Loss of Signal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2008, 11:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default Loss of Signal

Hi,

I've recently bought some new parts for my computer and have installed them. I can get my computer to turn on, but when it tried to load Windows Vista the signal from the computer to the monitor vanished. I have tried restarting several times and it seems to be when the Vista logon screen loads, or slightly after that, the signal goes. I tried reinstalling windows several times and sometimes it doesn't even get to the full install screen, elsewise it stops just before it finishes. I know my monitor isn't faulty (it worked fine before and still works now), and I thought it might be the graphics card. I recently purchased a 8800GT but I've been trying it with my old 6600GT as well. I've tried changing the RAM, unplugging hard drives/cd drives, changing almost everything but the motherboard, the cpu and the power supply. The CPU and motherboard seem to be working fine as it posts past BIOS, and these parts sound like they are still working after the signal goes. That really just leaves the power supply. I have a Cooler Master 430w eXtreme power supply which I haven't upgraded. I've read some reviews on the internet which aren't in its favour. UPDATE: The total max power output on the +12V rails combined is 348w, and 29Amperes, the eVGA site recommends 400w and 26 Amperes...Hmm, this could be the problem but it doesn't mention how much power on the 12V rail, just total...Do you guys think so? I can't find the stats on the 6600GT.

My specs are in my signature, however I tried changing the 8800GT with a 6600GT, I went down to 512mb of RAM and removed the 500GB HDD for testing.

Thank you very much for your help!!!
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Loss of Signal

Well, first off, you need to be uninstalling/reinstalling the drivers for the video cards when your switching them out. Second, that power supply seems kind of weak like you said...you might want to get a new one.

You also might want to try resetting the CMOS on the motherboard. I've had a few problems with the "No signal" message on my monitor, and a reset has always fixed.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default Re: Loss of Signal

Hi MetalOwns,

I didn't have any specific drivers installed for my old graphics card so I figured vista would just use a generic one until I got round to installing a proper one, I couldn't actually get into the screen to do that though unfortunatly. I'll try clearing the CMOS and giving it another go when I have more time...In the mean time does anybody else have some opinions on what could be wrong?

Thank you.
__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 04:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default Re: Loss of Signal

Well I reset the CMOS and Vista actually managed to install, I then booted into vista and could install the graphics card driver. It seems to work slightly more now. But the problem is still there. It usually freezes every so often (for example when installing an audio driver it froze and I could hear the drive spinning down,) and it occasionally loses the signal. Something seems rather unstable within the system. Any ideas?

Thanks!
__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weak Signal Strength soma104 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 02-02-2008 12:16 PM
Soyo Dragon loses video signal Ltat42a Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-25-2007 03:55 PM
Turning Monitor off, but no signal when turned on. canadian37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-20-2007 12:50 PM
Wireless adapter receive signal rbmcfarlane Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 05-23-2007 01:03 PM
Signal Over Range? Very Weird Trick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-31-2007 01:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.