Loosing sound after waking computer up. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2008, 07:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Loosing sound after waking computer up.

Ok so here's the hardware that is relevant to this:

Motherboard: Gigabyte DS3 965p
Sound: Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Xtrememusic

So lately whenever I wake up my computer from standby, I get no sound or very faulty sound. The first time this happened was yesterday. I woke up the computer to have excessive noise coming out of my center channel speaker. Today after waking the computer up this evening, I had zero sound at all.

By "standby" I mean: no video/audio signal and blinking power button ect. I checked all speaker connections and my sound card. Everything is snug. Also, after a reboot I get full sound again. This only happens when i wake it up from standby.

Any ideas? My cpu is overclocked to 3.6ghz so could there be some instability that somehow effects the PCI? But it's been OC stable since january. Thanks for your help either way.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 11:47 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Loosing sound after waking computer up.

Tried reinstalling your sound drivers?
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Loosing sound after waking computer up.

Yeah I've done that before. I woke it up today and it didn't happen. I also noticed that when I restart my computer "start>>>restart" my computer will not even recognize my X-Fi after it boots. It will say "found new hardware" and try to get me to install drivers ect. But if I hit turn it on after a full shut down, I won't have this problem either. Very odd.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Loosing sound after waking computer up.

It is not saving your profile correctly when you do a restart. It is speeding up the process which is causing you the grief.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 05:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Loosing sound after waking computer up.

Makes sense. I guess there's no real way to fix it but it's not that big of a deal. Just annoying after I get done with updates that require restart.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 09:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Loosing sound after waking computer up.

Create a new profile and import the old one.

How to recover the damaged user profile in Windows XP
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Loosing sound after waking computer up.

Ok Thanks
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 11-02-2008, 01:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Loosing sound after waking computer up.

Ok so just watched a movie and noticed that my 5.1 settings are a little messed up (rears putting out same sound as fronts). Shouldn't have been a big deal. So I open up my Creative Console, which usually has two buttons that say "Dolby Digital" and "DTS", where you can tweak the settings. These two buttons are no longer there, and they should be there according to the Help section (I remember messing with these long ago).

So I resorted to uninstalling my drivers, getting new ones, and getting the newest Creative software there is from their site. I was thinking that this may give me the options again. But when I try to open the Creative Volume Panel, it says "The current device is not supported. Would you like to select another?" Obviously, this is the only sound device that I have.

I just got done moving the X-Fi to another PCI slot. No change. Also, I just got done trying to make a new profile and copy all of my stuff over. In the directions regarding copying info from old to new profiles, it says:

Right-click My Computer, and select Properties.
Select the Advanced tab.
Click the Settings button in the User Profiles section.
Select the user account that was corrupted.
Click the Copy To button.
Click Browse button and then browse For Folder dialog box to locate the Documents and Settings folder and select the new account.

But when I select my old profile, the "Copy To" button is greyed out. Both old and new accounts are admin status. Not sure what to do now.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
sound card compatable with MIDI? pianoguy Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 08-03-2008 12:57 AM
Gaming computer with home theater? Pepsiboy700 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-13-2007 09:02 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.