Looking for some bios help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2010, 03:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Question Looking for some bios help

Hello everyone, I'm new to this forum but not super new to computer stuff, and I'm having some trouble updating my bios.

I have windows 7 64 bit, and I would like to update my bios on my ASUS P5N-D motherboard because the computer does not sleep, and I think that updating the bios may help resolve this issue.

I have found the bios support page on ASUS's website, but the bios flash utility they provide will not install on my computer, I have selected that my operating system is windows 7 64 bit, but it still will not install.


This is the page i found the bios utility on, and I selected the correct motherboard model and operating system:

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

all help is appreciated, please let me know if there is another flash bios upgrade utility that I can use.


Thanks,

Derek
__________________

roweder is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 03:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Looking for some bios help

Welcome to TF!

Did you enable the ability to sleep? It's somewhere in BIOS.

Secondly, you mostly have to go into BIOS, using a pen drive, to update it. Otherwise, you boot up with those files on it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 03:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,767
Default Re: Looking for some bios help

I used to have the P5N-D, I was always able to use the utility in XP; 7 wasn't out when I had it though.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 04:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: Looking for some bios help

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Welcome to TF!

Did you enable the ability to sleep? It's somewhere in BIOS.

Secondly, you mostly have to go into BIOS, using a pen drive, to update it. Otherwise, you boot up with those files on it.
how exactly do i get into bios and enable the ability to sleep? and what is a pen drive?

i pressed delete while it was booting up and found out that I am using bios version 603 and version 1204 is the latest version, which is a long way to go. I tried putting the new version on it in that setup mode with a USB drive (because it told me I could) and it turned out that i couldn't do squat with it.
roweder is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 04:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roweder View Post
Hello everyone, I'm new to this forum but not super new to computer stuff, and I'm having some trouble updating my bios.

I have windows 7 64 bit, and I would like to update my bios on my ASUS P5N-D motherboard because the computer does not sleep, and I think that updating the bios may help resolve this issue.

I have found the bios support page on ASUS's website, but the bios flash utility they provide will not install on my computer, I have selected that my operating system is windows 7 64 bit, but it still will not install.


This is the page i found the bios utility on, and I selected the correct motherboard model and operating system:

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

all help is appreciated, please let me know if there is another flash bios upgrade utility that I can use.


Thanks,

Derek
Just out of random curiosity, why would the software not install on your system? Any specific reason or error code? Just thought about asking since you did mention you choosing the correct OS which is Windows 7 64-bit and the website SUPPOSE to have a separate version of the software for that OS. Since I don't think they would make a separate page with a copy of the 32-bit installer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by roweder View Post
how exactly do i get into bios and enable the ability to sleep? and what is a pen drive?

i pressed delete while it was booting up and found out that I am using bios version 603 and version 1204 is the latest version, which is a long way to go. I tried putting the new version on it in that setup mode with a USB drive (because it told me I could) and it turned out that i couldn't do squat with it.
Usb drive = pen drive
You already went into the bios by hitting the delete button.
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 09:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Looking for some bios help

For Sleep mode in BIOS:



Power Management Settings:

Sleep State:
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-27-2010, 10:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Torrance ,California
Posts: 130
Default Re: Looking for some bios help

windows7 pro 64bit
go to control panel
go to power options
go to change when the computer sleeps (left side of screen)
see how many minutes its set at
baih777 is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 01:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: Looking for some bios help

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelm3103 View Post
Just out of random curiosity, why would the software not install on your system? Any specific reason or error code? Just thought about asking since you did mention you choosing the correct OS which is Windows 7 64-bit and the website SUPPOSE to have a separate version of the software for that OS. Since I don't think they would make a separate page with a copy of the 32-bit installer.



Usb drive = pen drive
You already went into the bios by hitting the delete button.
The error i'm getting is this:

roweder is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 02:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Looking for some bios help

Have you tried the previous solutions (going into the BIOS or changing the setup in control panel)? Also seems the installer you downloaded isn't compatible with 64bit.

Just checking, is this what you downloaded?
 
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 02:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: Looking for some bios help

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelm3103 View Post
Have you tried the previous solutions (going into the BIOS or changing the setup in control panel)? Also seems the installer you downloaded isn't compatible with 64bit.

Just checking, is this what you downloaded?
 
That is what i downloaded, i tried to go into the bios by pressing del when the computer was starting up, but I couldn't change anything, it just said disk A: and C: but i couldn't see anything inside of either of them, and i've tried changing the setup in control panel, i've had it set to sleep after 20 minutes, but all that it does is restart and go to the welcome screen and do nothing, so now it's set to never sleep. - are you referring to different settings in the control panel?
__________________

roweder is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenom x4 work on my Mobo? M4A1 System Upgrades 10 06-03-2009 04:24 PM
BIOs wont let me Overclock, no options.. TekBubs Overclocking and Modding 14 02-06-2009 10:58 PM
CMOS/ BIOS trouble shooting. Random Seeker Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-15-2008 12:03 PM
Toshiba 'BIOS password glitch' Cunjo Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-17-2008 02:14 AM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.