Logitech MX510 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2006, 09:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Default Logitech MX510

Well i've been using my 510 for about 1 or 2 years now, its been pretty good.

well recently i've been having problems where the optical red light thnig would flicker or even jut turn off and the mouse would be unresponnsive. I have an old mouse that i replaced with my 510 about 4 years ago and its got a faulty wire but that seems to work fine.

Should i try fix my 510 or just go buy a new one.

And for a new one. i want a logitech but not wireless. Which ones good idea?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I would check to see if it's not the mouse but the USB port or your computer or the driver. Try plugging it into another USB port, if that doesn't solve it then update the driver to the newest. If you already have the newest driver then downgrade to the driver that came with mouse. If that doesn't fix it try using it on another computer. Hopefully something good will happen. If you have warranty on it that would be good, or just get another mouse.

The 518, G3 and G5 are all great gaming mouse. I got the 518, but I'm not the type that would spend alot of money on a mouse. It's all good if it's a Logitech product.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Default

tried most of that stuff. but its wierd. nothing happens during gaming tho. i play games no screwing up and stuff. its only if i leave it doing nothing. thats just wierd.

we'll gonna gett a new mouse anyway becauase i've like burnt a hole in the logo with my sweat where my palm goes.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 04:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

check that the USB connector is contacting correctly
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 05:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Default

meh, went and bought a G5. Like the whole weight thing. Makes me feel 1337. Oh and it works fine
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 12:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Private_Shon
tried most of that stuff. but its wierd. nothing happens during gaming tho. i play games no screwing up and stuff. its only if i leave it doing nothing. thats just wierd.

we'll gonna gett a new mouse anyway becauase i've like burnt a hole in the logo with my sweat where my palm goes.
I was going to tell you to check the mouse power management in the device manager. But whatever, since you already went and bought a new mouse.
Law is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 07:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 296
Send a message via AIM to Private_Shon Send a message via Yahoo to Private_Shon
Default

oh yeah. it was screwed. awhile ago back this same computer had to get service coz the USBs screwed the exact same way it screwed now. it was working for a whole then just gave me the same message as last time. meh... i'll just get service i did buy 2 years pick up and return it already broke twice with the USBs last time and hard-drive. now the USB again!
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6700
ASUS 680i Striker
4GB G.Skill DDRII-800
XFX 8800GTX OC
2X 750GB Seagate Barracuda
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W
21\" LCD Samsung Syncmaster
Antec Nine-Hundred
Private_Shon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.