logitech headset trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2008, 05:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 19
Default logitech headset trouble


i just bought a logitech "premium stereo headset", it has of course headphones and a microphone..the microphone works but there's no sound coming from the headphones, the sound still comes from the PC speakers, and yes i've tested the headphones on my TV and it does work. i tried to put the headphone into every jack behind my computer but no luck..it only works when i take out the PC speakers plug and put the headphone plug where the speakers were..was it suppose to do this? because i tried on my friend's computer and it wasn't like this.

StriderZ is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 08:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Snake91839's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: logitech headset trouble

depending on your sound card, that's usually how it works. I plug my headphones into my speaker port when I need to not wake up the entire house

That, or plug it into the speakers. Unless of course, you have a sound card that lets you do otherwise.

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: logitech headset trouble

yes i have a soundblaster card and i have to switch the putput from the card back and forth between my headset and desktop speakers. which is gay, but just the way it is with the audigy card.
the newer cards have headers that you can connect to your case's plugs, allowing you to use the back plug for your desktop spkrs, and the case plugs for your earphones/mic, and the card silences the desktop spkrs when the headset is plugged in. mine, unfortunately, isn't that fancy. onboard, i don't know....i haven't ever used onboard sound with a headset. but you SHOULD be able to connect it to the proper headers and use the case plugs. whether this will silence the desktop speakers, i don't know. i think on my 590 mobo, i have to actually choose wether i am going to use back jacks or case jacks, i can't use them both.
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting speakers and NON usb headset to work Nekrage Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 03-05-2008 10:51 PM
Looking for Gaming Headset Recommnedations Ultra Steel PC Gaming 13 01-15-2008 11:19 AM
Which headset should I get out of these. Saint71 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-21-2007 10:59 PM
Having trouble configuring headset with new PC motoxer4533 Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 07-14-2007 12:41 AM
Logitech Precision Headset Broke?? slashnmash Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-26-2007 08:17 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.