Lock up PLS help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2006, 06:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Unhappy Lock up PLS help

My computer is locking up from time to time.. i dont know wut is triggering it. it randomly freezes. I cant alt tab, alt ctrl del at all
__________________

L7ion is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 06:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

viruses? cpu? ram? could be a number of things...
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 06:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default

its weird cuz this happend before then stopped and now its back..this computer is only 3 months old
L7ion is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 01:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Could also be the power supply.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 01:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 48
Default

If it is not the power supply, you are over-heating.
figero is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 02:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Your power supply isn’t strong enough. Did you buy your computer, or build it yourself? A common problem from people that choose to build their own computers is that they use the stock PSU's that came with their case, which are ALWAYS underpowered. A reliable and inexpensive PSU is the ThermalTake TR2. Its 430W (+3.3V@20A, +5V@30A, +12V@18A, -5V@18A, -12V@0.5A, +5VSB@0.8A)--which is ok. I have one in my system, and since I got it in august, I haven't had a lockup or hardware related crash since. It is the best bang-for-the-buck PSU out there.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153023
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 04:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

to say it again: there are quite a few things that could cause it. overheating and being underpowered are 2 likely causes. i would run memtest86 just to make sure its not your ram dying on you. if it doesnt fail after a few passes or a few hours of memtest see if you can get another psu to test
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.