Liteon JLMS XJ-HD 166S DVD-ROM DRIVE WONT READ DVD`S OR CD`S. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2006, 10:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Default Liteon JLMS XJ-HD 166S DVD-ROM DRIVE WONT READ DVD`S OR CD`S.

Liteon jlms xj-hd 166s dvd-rom drive wont read dvd`s or cd`s!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello can anyone help me?
My Liteon JLMS XJ-HD 166S DVD-ROM DRIVE has stopped working!

It was working a month ago but now it wont read any kind of media!

Device manager says it is working properly,My computer says the drive is present however when i put a dvd into the drive the drive spins and the green light flashes but the media is not detected.

When i click on the dvd drive icon it goes into "not responding".

I have reinstalled the drive and driver but that only resulted in the drive letter being changed from D to J!

Can anyone give me some tips on what to do?
__________________

jimmyjames is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 11:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Do you have a DVD player installed with the proper codecs?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Default

I did have dvd pro installed but i got rid of it as it was not playing dvds or cd`s anymore!Should i re install dvd pro or should i look for a different program?
Regards James
jimmyjames is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

1) Does it read music cds?

2) On my computer does it come up as "CD-Rom Drive" or "DVD-Rom Drive"?

3) Does the Drive get detected in the bios?

4) If you have a bootable cd (e.g a windows cd) can you boot off it (just put it in then reboot) ?
__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Default

1.)No it wont play anything,cd`s dvd`s etc.
2.)On my computer it comes up as dvd rom drive(drive letter J)
3.)Im not familiar with bios how do i check if the drive is detected in bios?
4.)I dont have any bootable cd`s.
Regards James
jimmyjames is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Bios is what shows up when you first boot the PC (usually says the name of the PC, information, etc).

A bootable CD is any version of Windows.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

check the ide cable is secure at both ends.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 01:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 8
Default

ALL CABLES ARE SECURE AND IN THE RIGHT PLACE.
Regards James
jimmyjames is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 02:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

You might just want to get a new drive - they're not that expensive.

Or you might want to try some cleaning cd if they are compatible with PC drives
__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 03:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

How many drives do you have installed? Check your jumpers make sure it isn't set to CS (cable select) If you only have one still make sure it is on a different channel then the hdd and set it to master. If you have two drives set the burner to master and the dvd rom to slave. You could also try updated the firmware for the drive just go to their site and download and install it.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.