linksys wrt54gs router, cant get it to work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2007, 04:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 140
Default linksys wrt54gs router, cant get it to work

ok first of all i no longer have the installation cd. second of all, when i connect my ethernet cable to the routers internet port it doesnt flash or anything, and it is useless, but when i connect one of the four ports beside it with ethernet cable to my laptop, it flashes up and the thing at bottom right goes except it ends up saying 'limited to no connnectivity'. this is no good.

how do i fix it? i want my router to work.
__________________

jonathanwest is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 08:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 140
Default Re: linksys wrt54gs router, cant get it to work

-ttt-
__________________

jonathanwest is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 06:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default Re: linksys wrt54gs router, cant get it to work

Are you using the correct type of cable? You might be using crossover cable which is wrong. More info on your laptop is needed.
poorman is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: linksys wrt54gs router, cant get it to work

log lnto the router settings and see if there's a setting that can get changed.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 12:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default Re: linksys wrt54gs router, cant get it to work

first things first: what are your specs, and what kind of connection are you using?

I wouldn't be surprised if it was just a the router. I had so many problems with my wrt54gs it wasn't even funny.
__________________
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 140
Default Re: linksys wrt54gs router, cant get it to work

Quote:
Originally Posted by midn1gh7 View Post
log lnto the router settings and see if there's a setting that can get changed.
How? i dont have the installation cd and all i found online was some 'firmware' download with a .bin file.
jonathanwest is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default Re: linksys wrt54gs router, cant get it to work

type 192.168.1.1 into your web browser then you should be able to access the router's settings.
__________________
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 03:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default Re: linksys wrt54gs router, cant get it to work

Download an Ip scanner and see if your router has an ip address. Then open internet explorer and type in that ip address. You should then be in a screen where you can check the settings.
wicked23 is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 04:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 140
Default Re: linksys wrt54gs router, cant get it to work

I tried easylink connect program that i found on linksys website(which should have been WAY more clear) and it says 'easylink connect did not detect an active internet connection blah blah blah'.

typing 192.68.1.1 was one of the first things i did and it didn't work.

"easylink connect did not detect" - Google Search

ffs now i just tried the router and it is working with the wires but not wireless, nothing stil when i type in 192.168.1.1. stupid thing.

i tried 'advanced ip scanner' since u told me to use ip scanner. nothing comes up 'alive' except two ips related to my isp.
jonathanwest is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 04:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default Re: linksys wrt54gs router, cant get it to work

Go to start/run/type cmd type ipconfig /all.
Is there an adrees for a gateway?
__________________

wicked23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
linksys router with dchp server wahoo_128 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-07-2007 04:53 PM
About Linksys Router sitopons Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 07-01-2007 01:53 PM
Trying to get a D-link wireless router to work Inziladun Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 06-04-2007 04:33 PM
2 Router setup...possible? BoysNightOut Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 13 03-31-2007 06:37 PM
Linksys router not working anymore Stand and Fight Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 14 03-25-2007 02:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.