Linksys Wireless Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2008, 06:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Linksys Wireless Card

I recently purchased a linksys router that is capable of wireless activity and a linksys wireless card and i have 2 computers one is hard wired to the router and is getting internet just fine and the other computer is getting the card. but after installed the CD that came with the card on thecomputer with the card i cant get anything to open or work the Network Monitor that im supposed to use to select my connection thru is not working. it wont let me uninstal or reinstall or open it at all. I am not sure why but its tricking windows into thinking that it IS working but its not. and windows turns off its connection selection thing and tells me to use the software that i got.... but that software doesnt work.....

id apreciate if anyone can tell me how i can correct this issue.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Linksys Wireless Card

you might be able to download updated software from the linksys site...Other then that i don't know (networking is not my thing)
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: Linksys Wireless Card

you do not need to use the software that came with the card, however you do need the driver. You should be able to uninstall somehow, what have you tried?

When uninstalled, find the driver (probably through windows update) for your card, and then just use windows to manage it

Let me know exactly what it's doing to not let you install the software, and I might be able to help
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 07:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Linksys Wireless Card

I've tried going thru windows add/remove programs to try and remove the drivers but when i click finish to complete the uninstall they remain there.

The Computer messed up when the CD was running so that might be the issue?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 08:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Re: Linksys Wireless Card

well, yes that would do it. To get rid of the programs, you'll probably have to go in and delete the files yourself. Or, and probably the better choice, run the CD again and see if there's a repair feature, or re-install it and see what that does.
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 08:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Linksys Wireless Card

ok i'll try that

Thx

*update* I've figured out what i think the problem is. I noticed that the card seems to be working fine because it picks up my network. but when i click on the bubble to get to where i configure it. windows is saying that it cannot. and its telling me to go use the software i have... well i dont have any software to use....*/update*

*update 2* I've done all sorts of methods to get these drivers out. I'vedeleted the Linksys folder from program files. I've gone to the properties for my card and tried to uninstall from there but it says i cant because it may be crucial to system booting. i've tried control panel.*/update 2*
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 10:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default Re: Linksys Wireless Card

Have you tried device manager? go into safe mode, right click mycomputer then manage , then hardware tab or look for device manager. Then find your card and right click uninstall.

Also what linksys router is it?as some can use custom firmwares, Id recommend custom firmware like tomato:
Tomato Firmware | polarcloud.com
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 10:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Linksys Wireless Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by baronvongogo View Post
Have you tried device manager? go into safe mode, right click mycomputer then manage , then hardware tab or look for device manager. Then find your card and right click uninstall.

Also what linksys router is it?as some can use custom firmwares, Id recommend custom firmware like tomato:
Tomato Firmware | polarcloud.com
how do i go into safe mode?

and my model is WRT54G2

not sure what custom firmware is but could you go into detail.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default Re: Linksys Wireless Card

go to start>run and type msconfig

when the box appears click boot and then check the box saying safe boot click apply and ok and click restart pc. It should now boot into safe mode.

In device manager your network card might show up with a yellow ! that means something is wrong with it ,right click and choose uninstall. If it doesnt have a ! next to it find it in the list probably under network adaptors.

custom firmware can make your router transfer data faster, make it more stable and also provide more options to you. Thats if you know how to access your router settings.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 04-15-2008, 11:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Linksys Wireless Card

how do i get to the device manager.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless card worked fine, now it wont detect the connection? caraleio Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 11-11-2007 01:29 AM
Dynex wireless card with fedora 7 krazy_taco Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-17-2007 01:08 PM
Linksys Wireless Internet Security cyclones Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 08-12-2007 06:38 PM
outlook and xp pro wireless card issue phantomdentist Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 07-12-2007 11:28 PM
Missing Wireless Card bxhood Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-22-2007 06:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.