Lines on my screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2005, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default Lines on my screen

Hi Ive got this problem with my computer ever since a few months ago.....it just keeps occuring and i decided to change my comp.However,the problem occured again eventhough i changed almost my entire PC.The parts that i changed are the following :

Intel Pentium D 820
MSI 945P NEO
ATI RADEON X800GTO
AcBel 450Watt Power supply
Corsair 1GB DDR2 Memory stick

Eventhough i changed almost my entire PC,the problem still occurs.THe lines just keep appearing in my screen(It even appears when im in Bios).What is the problem? Is it my pc or is it some program malfunction? Ive formatted my comp and the problem has yet to be fixed.Please help me.Im having a major headache now trying to figure out the problem.
__________________

Mikiyo is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Your moniter could be going bad, If its a CRT, EMI could affect it and cause lines on the screen.

Happens to me randomly: the back of my computer is to close to my CRT.

Try moving the moniter away from anything else electronic.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 01:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Ive just bought my LCD screen a few months back and there aren't any electronic devices nearby.And to make matter worse a problem with states that my graphic acceleration has a problem occurs.Ive change my graphic card to a X800GTO but the line just keeps appearing.Then i decided to change the motherboard.To fulfill the motherboard's need,i changed my power supply and my memory.After trying my comp again,the problem continue to occur.So i thought the final component that i had not changed is the processor.However,After buying the processor and fixing it to my computer,the lines didn't go away and instead,my screen have lines everywhere even when im in BIOS MODE!
Mikiyo is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 01:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Then the LCD is bad, RMA it if you still can.

LCD aren't sepceptable to EMI as much as CRTs are.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Hmph does the LCD problem makes my comp to prompt me about my graphic acceleration problem?
Mikiyo is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 02:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Im sorry, I ment the Lines on the screen could be caused by a bad moniter.

For the other problem.
What are the only parts you kept from old build?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 02:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I kept my Hard disk And my monitor.Thats all,so i actually changed almost my entire PC
Mikiyo is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 02:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Can you post a screen shot of this error you get?

I would have reformated my drive after changing that many parts and still getting the same error.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 02:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Ive just fixed the processor to the motherboard together with the power supply.Currently,im using a laptop to post.When i saw those lines in my screen,i just shut down the computer so it would not do anymore damage to my processor or motherboard.Stressing it would be the worst case scenario i believe.But the graphic accelerator problem occurs when i load something which have to do with 3d objects,
Mikiyo is offline  
Old 12-17-2005, 02:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mikiyo
Ive just fixed the processor to the motherboard together with the power supply.
If the processor was incorrectly installed the computer would not boot.

So Please explain what I qouted,
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.