Limited Virtual Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 04:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default Limited Virtual Memory

About 8 months ago I got this error.. everytime I booted up Windows, the first thing that popped up was this. I had messed around with thesettings for awhile afterwards(following generic guides and such) and nothing has helped. Anyone have any ideas?

(I have about ~400 MB of ram.)
__________________

WolvenASE is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

right click "my computer" select properties. go to the advanced tab and click settings under the performance section. click the advanced tab there and down the bottom where it says "change" click it. increase the size of the paging file
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default

I should have clarified that I have XP, so to get to the virtual memory thing, you have to do it another way, which I forgot., but regardless, telling me to increase it doesn't help, because I have increased it before and it didn't really fix the problem.. so, thanks.
WolvenASE is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 11:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default

No help? :/
WolvenASE is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 12:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go to start, run and type "msconfig" and press enter.
remove items from startup except those you need (Antivirus and such)
after you restart, you won't have as many programs opening and less RAM will be used

otherwise, I would just advise you try and upgrade your RAM
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-01-2006, 12:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well the solution to the problem you have described is exactly as i stated and in windows xp that is how you access virtual memory settings. if you don't actually try the solutions offered why should people help
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 07:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
well the solution to the problem you have described is exactly as i stated and in windows xp that is how you access virtual memory settings. if you don't actually try the solutions offered why should people help
First, if you're going to be a ****, don't even bothering responding at all, okay?

Secondly, you couldn't have been more vague, and I would hardly call that crap a "solution". Increase the size of the paging file. Gee. How do I do that, considering there are 3 input values? How much should I increase it to? What's the maximum value? What's the minimum value? What exactly does this do, and how did this happen in the first place?

Yeah, in all honesty, your piece of **** advice didn't help at all. Atleast apok gave me something, which I appreciate, but I just upgraded my ram from 128 and added a 256 MB stick, so I have ~374 now.
WolvenASE is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 08:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

alright perhaps i was a little over the top in my response but at least i tried to remain civil. my advice to you "not everything can be completely taught, some things you have to learn for yourself". this is one of those things. it has to be done with trial and error. i can't really give you an exact value, i expected you would just try and tweak it until it worked. a minimum should be at least double the quantity of your ram if you can spare the room and the maximum should be 2.5-3x the amount of ram. that is an outline. now i'm sorry if i offended you earlier but i was annoyed that you seemingly didn't even bother trying what i said when i took the time to try and help
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.