LCD pixels - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2007, 11:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Default LCD pixels

for some i reason i have this line on my LCD screen. i'm pretty sure its stuck or something, but is there a way to fix it?

i found this thing, it says it should help http://www.jscreenfix.com/

please help....my screen isn't even a year old...
__________________

vertigo93 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 11:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

BumBumBum.... The line strikes again. If it is a line you are describing, then that program probably wont do anything. A stuck pixel is different from a line. A line cant be fixed as easily (if at all) and is much more annoying. I would do these:

1) Change the resolution of your desktop to make sure its not a problem with your video card.

2) If you have a spare, try changing the video card out and seeing if that makes a difference (or try a different screen on that same video card, and if the problem recurrs, then its the video card's fault, excluding the 1-in-a-trillion chance that both monitors happened to have the exact same problem in the exact same spot)

3) Ask someone else, because im just some guy on the internet.

4) RMA the monitor.
Thats all ive got. Good luck.
__________________

__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

And if you were going to try a program, i would use this one, cause its free. its meant for psp, but just play it thourgh itunes or something.

http://www.psp-vault.com/article168.psp
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Default

well, i've tried to change my computers resolution, but nothing happened, the line stayed there
vertigo93 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 03:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

try uninstalling and reinstalling your video card driver. U can get them at ati.com or nvidia.com

Post your SPECS!!!!

If the driver doesnt fix it, do what was suggested above^
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

when you change the resolution, is the line in the same place on the screen? or does it move with the same ratio as the resolution change?
joshd is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 06:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Default

the line stays, but it seems to be a little better now after i used the jsreenfix thing.....i think i might do it again
__________________

vertigo93 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.