LCD input convesion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2006, 11:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Smile LCD input convesion

Hi I just joined Tech Forums.

My question might sound stupid or I might be positing it in the wrong section, but here goes.

I just bought an analog LCD and my video card has both the analog and digital inputs. I have an adaptor which lets me take the VGA (analog) connection from my LCD and convert it to DVI and then it can plug into the DVI input on my card.

My question is if the signal from my video card ( radeon 7500) is digital and my LCD being analog will this conversion cause any harm to the LCD.


I hope i made some sense...
__________________

Arcilles is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 11:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

No harm done...plug into the DVI on the video card, and then to the monitor....enjoy

Welcome to TF!!
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

In theory and actual trying, no. It will just convert to fit your display.

Welcome to TF!
__________________
The rigs:
1- ASUS P4S800D-X / INTEL PENTIUM 4 3000MHZ HT FSB800 / 1GB DDR RAM KINGSTON VALUERAM DUAL CHANNEL / AOPEN AEOLUS GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB/ 160GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9 ATA-133 / 10.2GB FUJITSU ATA-66
2-PC CHIPS M825G V9.2C / AMD ATHLON DDR 1333MHZ (2666 EFFECTIVE) / 1GB DDR 400 AT 333 (DUE TO ONE DDR 333 STICK / NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 / 120GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 / 60GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9
3-Dell Optiplex G1 / Intel Pentium II 400 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / Some onboard crap 2MB card
4- ABIT BH6 / Intel Celeron 366 / 128MB RAM / 2GB Quantum HDD / 8MB ATI Rage 3D Pro
5-Intel SE440BX / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 40GB Maxtor HDD / Matrox MGA Millenium G200 8MB
6- IBM Machine E5U / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 3.2GB IBM HDD / 2.1GB Quantum Bigfoot HDD / ATI Rage IIC 4MB (BIOS says Mach 64)
7- Intel SEA440LX / Intel Celeron 333 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / 4MB ATI Rage IIC
8- Intel AN430TX / Pentium MMX 200 / 96MB RAM PC-100 / 850MB WD / 524MB Seagate / ATI <ach 64 2MB
lhuser is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 12:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default

thanks guys for the input..hehe
Arcilles is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 08:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

lol, and welcome to tf! but, just a note, those connectors on the vid card arent inputs, theyre outputs, and the monitor has inputs ^_^
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 11:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default

Hello,

DVI is capable of carrying both analogue and digital signals - so it won't cause any harm as already said. The converter doesn't change the signal (whether it's analogue or digital), but only changes the pinout.

...So, when you plug a monitor up to the DVI port on the graphics card via VGA using a DVI-VGA converter, the signal which leaves the DVI port to the VGA cable on the monitor is analogue.

In short, the signal in this case is still analogue to analogue, not digital to analogue (between the graphics card and monitor).
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 07:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default

thanks for the details, that helped alot.

By the way i did switch to the DVI adaptor, but when i did the screen on my LCD became smooth and it lost some detail, i tried switching the refresher rate but it remained smooth. So i went back to vga connection.
Arcilles is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 07:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

What's the point of using the adapter anyways? You gfx card has an analog output, so use it.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 08:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 22
Default

I decided to use the adaptor, thinking that the signal from the DVI connection would become digital and that it would match the LCD, being digital hardware, but Alvin C explained it further, by saying that no change would occur, it would still remain analog.

But your right Major, am sticking with the VGA.
Arcilles is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 07:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

sadly i have only DVI but and old crapper Analog monitor

I'll be getting an LCD with DVI soon

but yeah from my experiance it wont do anything to the monitor
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.