Laptop to Tv via HDMI no HD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2013, 05:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Default Laptop to Tv via HDMI no HD?

Hey,

I have recently bought a new 32" TV, its Full-HD (1080p) and this resulution works fine when Im watching HD TV.

Now, I have connected my Laptop which has a native resolution of 1366x786p via HDMI and it seems that the picture on my TV is just a streched version of the one on my Laptop.

I would really appericiate any help, If anyone needs anything else regarding this topic, im willing to help out in anyway i can.

regards Dave
__________________

Blala_de is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 08:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Laptop to Tv via HDMI no HD?

Right-click somewhere on your desktop, and click "Screen Resolution".

When you duplicate the screen, the TV's resolution will only go as high as the resolution of the laptop's screen (1366x768). If you choose "Extend Desktop to this display", it should automatically switch the TV to its "optimal" resolution (1920x1080).
__________________

__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 10:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Laptop to Tv via HDMI no HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yevrag35 View Post

When you duplicate the screen, the TV's resolution will only go as high as the resolution of the laptop's screen (1366x768). If you choose "Extend Desktop to this display", it should automatically switch the TV to its "optimal" resolution (1920x1080).
This would be the setting to check first. Change from "Duplicate Displays" to "Extend to this display" and it should automatically fix. If not, then do as Yevrag said, and select your TV in the Screen Resolution dialog and set it to 1920x1080.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 01:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Default Re: Laptop to Tv via HDMI no HD?

Thanks for the help, but i guess i didnt describe my problem properly
In the display settings it says 1080P but it doesnt have the sharpness when im using my Pc as when im watching TV on it.
Blala_de is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Laptop to Tv via HDMI no HD?

That's because it's a TV, and your PC is treating it like a TV that might potentially have a lower quality panel so colors and sharpness will seem washed out. The #1 reason I tell people "don't use a TV for PC tasks or gaming".

What's the model of the laptop in question? I (or somebody else) can probably take a look at the settings and tell you what to do to make it treat the TV like a PC monitor. HDMI is weird that way.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 07:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Default Re: Laptop to Tv via HDMI no HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
That's because it's a TV, and your PC is treating it like a TV that might potentially have a lower quality panel so colors and sharpness will seem washed out. The #1 reason I tell people "don't use a TV for PC tasks or gaming".

What's the model of the laptop in question? I (or somebody else) can probably take a look at the settings and tell you what to do to make it treat the TV like a PC monitor. HDMI is weird that way.

I mainly use it for tv but thought i might hook it up to my laptop since it only has a 15.5" screen

anyways the laptop is a Toshiba Satellit L500-1TC hope that helps
Blala_de is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 10:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Laptop to Tv via HDMI no HD?

Must be Intel GMA, which shouldn't give you that issue. Due to pixel density, viewing PC stuff on the TV will look terrible but just make sure that you have the settings on the TV right, and that it's set to extended desktop with the resolution set to 1920x1080. Other than that, there really isn't much we can say.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 12:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 4
Default Re: Laptop to Tv via HDMI no HD?

Allright thanks anyway. If i find anything else, I will post it here
Blala_de is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 02:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 405
Default Re: Laptop to Tv via HDMI no HD?

For a while I was using a 32" 720p TV as a monitor. The first one I got was a cheap Apex, which was a nightmare. I upgraded to a Samsung and it was great - the picture was never going to be as sharp as a proper monitor, but it was pretty close. However, I just couldn't live with the resolution. I loved having a 32" display, but setting it to anything higher than 1366x768 killed the picture quality, and that's just no way to live. It's still great for watching movies and the such, but right now the TV is collecting dust until I put a HTPC together.

I have an HP laptop that I've gotten a decent picture from when connected to a 55" TV, but it has a discrete GPU. I couldn't game on it because it had noticeable lag, but it looked alright. I've connected other laptops with integrated graphics to that same TV and it was terrible enough to not be worth it.
DistraughtSysop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 04:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
acerinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,839
Default Re: Laptop to Tv via HDMI no HD?

I use a 50 inch plasma for my monitor for gaming ,etc. Granted, it is a full 1080P plasma, and the PC is pretty decent ( i5 and w a 560ti gpu card) .
__________________

acerinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.