Laptop RAM question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2006, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default Laptop RAM question

I have a toshiba laptop that came with 1gb (2 x 512mb) of 667mhz ddr2 ram. I have a stick of 1gb 533mhz ddr2 ram. I want to know if I can remove one of the 512s that came with it and replace it with the 1gb stick that I have even though it is a slower speed?

Thanks in advance for any help with this.

Roy
__________________

__________________
lauroy8 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 04:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,581
Default

Hello,

Provided that the SODIMM slots on your motherboard support 1 GB capacity RAM modules, and that it supports more than 1 GB of RAM in total, then yes it will work. You'd then have 1.5 GB of RAM.

...However, all your RAM modules will be underclocked to, and will operate at 533Mhz, not 667Mhz - Since the 1 GB module can only operate at 533Mhz or lower.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C

Desktop PC Build 2 - Mini ITX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 @ 3.4 GHz | Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Mini | ARCTIC Freezer 11 LP CPU Cooler | ASUS P10S-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard | Global Memory 32GB DDR4-2133 ECC RAM | Kingston SSDNow UV400 128GB SSD + 2x128GB SSD RAID 0 | Corsair SF600 600W SFX Modular PSU | SilverStone Milo ML08 Mini ITX Case (with carry handle) |


Desktop PC Build 1 - Micro ATX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X | Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler | Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 Micro ATX Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB SSD + 2x500GB SSD RAID 0 | Seasonic Platinum Fanless 520W Modular PSU | NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case |
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

That was my assumption but I thought I would run it by someone else before I did it. Thanks very much for your help. I will run a couple of benchmarks and see if I lose much with the slower ram. My laptop has a Dual Core processor so it could be significant. If it is I guess I will just buy a 1gb stick of the 667mhz ram. I certainly feel better about putting it in after reading your post. Thanks again.

Roy
__________________
lauroy8 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.