Laptop HD corrupt? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 10:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 118
Question Laptop HD corrupt?

Ok so i wake up one morning and my laptop restarted randomly. So what i restart and find that i hear the hd going crazy while trying to read and boot up the OS. So reaching the windows screen where the OS is loading, i find that after 10 mins it wont load. I come back about 10 hours later it loads but neither C: nor the D: scandisk will check the disk it stays at 0%. So i restart thinking i will just delete both partitions and reinstall, but it says i cannot delete either partition. So at this point im not sure what to do. I have an ACER 4500 travelmate, Ive tried to reinstall the partition 104329432 times and it wont and sometimes when i try to repair it says the hd is corrupt or itll bring me to the command line screen of repair xp in which i tried to format the hd but after i thought i successfully did that it didnt do anything. Soo. ... .. . .. . . help is much needed and very appreciated

thanks guys/gals
__________________

Hi.Im.New is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 04:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You can replace the hard drive, but it's a little difficult to do on a laptop. I suggest you return it to Acer if your warranties haven’t expired yet, you can definitely get a free replacement.

This site should give you some illustration http://www.fonerbooks.com/laptop_1.htm , just like a desktop but the laptop is more compact and requires you to be more careful. All laptop are different so the illustration may not be exactly as you expected.

A universal information http://www.alanmacek.com/ref/harddrive.shtml
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 118
Default

thnx for the info,

yea my laptop is out of warranty, so i guess i should email acer and make sure i buy the right harddrive. Ask also if they have some general diagram of the layout of the laptop and how i can install this thing.
Hi.Im.New is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.