Laptop to Flatscreen Dell U2410 Prob? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2010, 09:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Default Laptop to Flatscreen Dell U2410 Prob?

Hi,

Thanks for taking a look at my thread here. I've just purchased a Dell ultra 2410 flat screen and have managed to connect it to my laptop, Dell inspiron 6400. The screen seems to work fine but the image remains centred doesn't fill the screen. I have tried adjusting settings in the display/control panel but with no luck and have also adjusted the settings on the Dell screen osd. Still no change. The image sits in the middle of the screen with 5 inch black border around it.

Any ideas?

thanks for your help,

Paul
__________________

Bwallace is offline  
Old 04-07-2010, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Laptop to Flatscreen Dell U2410 Prob?

It sounds as if you're using a 4:3 resolution when you should be using a 16:9 resolution. Try finding the manual. It should list your monitors native resolution, and with Widescreen LCD it's best to use those.

Try some of these resolutions.
852x480
1280x720
1365x768
1600x900
1920x1080

If this doesn't work, then it's likely a matter of adjusting the width and height of the displayed image through the osd.
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 04-07-2010, 11:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Laptop to Flatscreen Dell U2410 Prob?

Do you have the correct drivers? Nvidea/ATI has a console that should fix this. If you are using Intel graphics, try and get the latest ones from Dell.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-07-2010, 11:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Laptop to Flatscreen Dell U2410 Prob?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dell
Display: Includes the 15.4" WXGA (1280X800) display standard or for brighter, more vivid colors choose one of Dell's TrueLifeTM options: the 15.4" WXGA (1280x800) display with TrueLifeTM or the 15.4" UltraSharpTM WSXGA+ (1680x1050) display with TrueLifeTM
So it should fit a wide screen monitor no problems... Its defiNATELY a incorrect setting.

Have you tried booting with the screen attached? See if windows auto detects it?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Dell Inspiron Core Duo laptop NightSurge Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 11 04-22-2009 01:11 AM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM
Help with Dell Laptop sPlAtOiD Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2007 10:04 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.