Laptop doesn't boot at all - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 10:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default Laptop doesn't boot at all

I don't know how on earth the laptop stuffed up. One day it was perfect the next it wouldn't boot. Nothing at all shows up on the screen.

This is what I have gathered.
The laptop is fully charged and when I try and power it up the power light, wireless light, HDD light etc all flash for half a second. The fan also spins for half a second but this only occurs when the AC cable is plugged in.

But when I unplug the AC cable from the laptop the lights don't even flash at all - nothing happens. Ive also removed the battery and ran the laptop off the AC cable alone but the same happens with the fan and lights on for half a second.


Any ideas on how to solve it?
Something fried?
__________________

sick_unit is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 10:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

remove your battery and unplug the a/c
take your ram out and put back in
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Nope. Still the same problems.
sick_unit is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 11:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

bummer

try just one stick @ a time if there is 2 in there
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default

There is just one 512 stick. However I have switched the RAM in different slots and booting it but still no luck.
sick_unit is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 03:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Well I have opened the laptop and wanted to remove the battery in order to reset the bios. But there was one problem. I couldn't bloody find the battery. What size battery do laptop's use? Is it the same as a PC?

Also is there any way I can flash the BIOS taking in account my problems (ie. laptop not booting all all)?


Thanks
sick_unit is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 03:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sick_unit
Well I have opened the laptop and wanted to remove the battery in order to reset the bios. But there was one problem. I couldn't bloody find the battery. What size battery do laptop's use? Is it the same as a PC?

Also is there any way I can flash the BIOS taking in account my problems (ie. laptop not booting all all)?


Thanks
umm, PC's don't use batteries. the only thing closest to a battery they might use is a UPS.

and if you want to flash your BIOS, it must be able to actually work first. Most BIOS flash utilities are MS-DOS programs, and some can be used in Windows.

Anyway, I think the battery might not be connected properly. this is just guessing though.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 09:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

He means the CMOS battery. PCs use a 2032 watch battery, and I honestly have no idea what laptops use. I know they have cmos batteries but I've got no idea what they look like in a laptop.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

Notebooks seem to be being made now that have a replaceable cmos battery. I have noticed that in the last few years that the trend is for replaceable. Some they are in the top cover where the track pad is , some gateways like the solo , the are in another compartment under the li - ion battery. Try searching in google for your make + cmos battery replacement.
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 07:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
Default

Guys I opened the laptop again and couldnt find the CMOS battery.

What else can I do to try and fix it?
__________________

sick_unit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.