Laptop boot problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2006, 04:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 97
Default Laptop boot problem

Gday, I have in my possession an old Hewlett Packard Omnibook that POSTs and then goes to a blank screen. When the laptop is in the black screen it plays a sound to say it has entered Windows and it also plays the CD that I put in but nothing appears on the screen ever. does anyone know what could be wrong and how to fix it?

thanx in advance, Cameron
__________________

zombie_master is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 06:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

press F8 after post , select "safe mode" , uninstall the video driver & restart then reinstall it
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 97
Default

it goes to a blank screen straight after posting. i tried F8 anyway but it just beeped at me. it is currently running Windows 95 if that is any help in any way.

Cameron
zombie_master is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

try holding F8 (without releasing i mean)
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 97
Default

tried holding and still beeps. it also wont boot off my MS-DOS boot disk even though it is set to boot off floppy and then off hard drive

-Cameron
zombie_master is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 97
Default

if u know of any commands in DOS that i can do to uninstall the graphics drivers that is good because when it loads windows i can access DOS.

-Cameron
zombie_master is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 97
Default

i got it working. all i had to do was attach a monitor to it because the LCD wasnt set to master screen
zombie_master is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 97
Default

rejoiced too soon i can now see what i am doing but windows wont use the LCD screen, i need it to use the LCD as i am fixing this laptop for one of my mums friends who probably doesnt have a spare screen and who wants to use a screen with a laptop anyway?

-Cameron

[EDIT] i have found an option that allows the choice between LCD, VGA and LCD+VGA but windows only allows the VGA and if i try to change it it doesnt work it just goes back to VGA
zombie_master is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

i tought you alredy saw what you were doing but just not after windows loads , at least so it seemed , set to LCD and unplug the *external* monitor and see how it goes
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 06:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

My laptop has a button where if you hold the FN button down and press this it changes the primary monitor between external and LCD, press that a few times and you should get video, most laptops have this.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.