lan troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2006, 12:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Default lan troubles

Hi all,

Just built a new rig and I can't connect through my mobo's onboard lan port. Adapter is listed under my device manager but my network remains unplugged.

I've got a laptop with a ethernet card set up right next to it that works fine.

Here's the specs.

Asus A8N5X, socket 939 nforce 4 mobo w/ onboard lan
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Venice)
Nvidia 6600GT
1 gig Ram
Antec Smart Power 500W
NEC DVD/RW

Running Windows XP pro w/ sp2

Other than the lan connection, everything is running smoothly.

Thanks in advance for the help!
__________________

JChamp is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Have you tried repairing the Desktop PC's connection?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 02:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Have you installed the drivers that came with the mobo yet?
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 10:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Default

Thanks for the response, guys.

Drivers are installed.

Tall dude, could you explain what you mean when you say repair? Sorry about the ignorance, but I'm still learning here
JChamp is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Is the laptop connected threw a cable as well? And if it is are you using the same cable?

Talldude means Go to control panel and network and internet connections, Then network connections then select the ethernet controller and right click it and click repair. There are otherways but this is the easiest way.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 10:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Default

Looks like I can't repair the connection -- that option is not highlighted when I right click.

I'm looking to connect to the same connection my laptop uses. We have a wireless connection through a cable modem downstairs.

Any other suggestions?
JChamp is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JChamp
Hi all,

Just built a new rig and I can't connect through my mobo's onboard lan port. Adapter is listed under my device manager but my network remains unplugged.

Onboard Lan is a wired connection not a wireless one!


The one that shows up as unhooked in the taskbar is the onboard lan (wired connection). Do you have a wireless adaptor installed? And if so do you have the drivers installed for it.

You are going to need an adaptor like this
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...734063&CatId=0

or this
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...783131&CatId=0
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 12:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 88
Default

It may sound stupid but did you ran the Network wizard??
PR Gamer is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 04:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PR Gamer
It may sound stupid but did you ran the Network wizard??
I am pretty sure he doesn't even have a wireless adaptor to hook to his wifi yet.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 12:35 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude
Onboard Lan is a wired connection not a wireless one!


The one that shows up as unhooked in the taskbar is the onboard lan (wired connection). Do you have a wireless adaptor installed? And if so do you have the drivers installed for it.

You are going to need an adaptor like this
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...734063&CatId=0

or this
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...783131&CatId=0
Thank you Flash, you're spot on and right now I'm feeling really stupid!

I just ordered an adapter from Newegg so I should be sitting pretty in about 48 hours.

Thanks to everyone that replied and I hope I didn't waste too much of your time!
__________________

JChamp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.