LACie dvd +/- RW DL Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2006, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default LACie dvd +/- RW DL Problem

Hi everybody,

Well i recently built a new computer and I am having a problem with me secondary Disk Drive, a LACie DVD+/- RW Double Layer with light scribe external drive.

So my problem is that whenever I turn the switch on from the back of Disk drive, it makes my computer act really slow, once in a while freezes it, and then once in a great while a Blue Screen of Death. The BSOD says that it is a IRQ Error (or something like that) and I do not know how to fix it. But I do not think that is the problem (only part of it).

But whenever I try to use the light scribe the computer just freezes. Then I have to end the task through task manager.

Hope you can help,
Thanks,
Wirercx

PS the computer specs are:
Win XP Pro 32bit
AMD Athlon 64 X2 +4800
The disk drive I was telling you about
Sony DVD RW burner (primary)
2 Gigabytes of Ram
(1) EVGA e-GeForce 7900 GTX
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
550 Watt PSU
__________________

wirercx is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 11:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Update the USB/firewire drivers that the DVDRW is connected to.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 12:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

I have been looking alllll over the internet for firewire drivers for that board and I cannot find a single driver. And the board does not come with any bundled drivers for firewire....
wirercx is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 01:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

The drivers would be part of the chipset drivers, Did you install all the drivers on the motherboard cd? What make model number is the board
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 01:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

Yes I did install the chipset drivers, and I did list the motherboard make and model above, but here it is again, ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
wirercx is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wirercx
Yes I did install the chipset drivers, and I did list the motherboard make and model above, but here it is again, ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
Sorry my bad I didn't see the specs , do you have the Latest Bios? And the chipset drivers Nvidia Chipset If they don't help you, You could try the V6.7 Directly from Nvidia
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 03:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

I am pretty sure I have the latest bios and drivers. I even tried the ones you reccomended and still nothing.

So I have no more ideas on what to do.
wirercx is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 05:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

Bump, I now need this to work for buisiness reasons... otherwise, on friday, when I have some time I will just call up the company.
__________________

wirercx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.