Keyboard screwed up on lappy? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2006, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Keyboard screwed up on lappy?

My friend just reformated his laptop, and when he got done he noticed that the keyboard is displaying a "2" when he hits the caps lock key, and a "1' when he hits Tab.

Anyway to fix this? It is a dell afterall, but still thats really odd.. stumped me.
__________________

__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Start -> Control Panel -> Regional and Language Options
Press the Details button

Change the Language to either English (US) or English (Canadian)
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Thanks, We'll see if that works, what would cause that? Just wondering?
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 09:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Well, the keyboard might have been switched to a different language during install, such as UK, so keys would be different.

Hopefully its not a hardware defect, keyboards on laptops arent an easy fix.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 09:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

That's a negative. And we have a new symtom.. The "Backspace" key does nothing.
So what now?
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 09:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Did you switch the keyboard language? Did it work OK?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 09:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

What do you mean by the keyboard displays "2" and "1"? Are they the lights, or on the LCD screen?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 09:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Yeah, when he hits Tab the number 1 is typed onto his screen, like in notepad, if he were to hit the tab button, a 1 would appear.. instead of being tabbed over..
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 10:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Did you switch the keyboard language? Did it work OK?
No, it didnt do anything.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 10:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

my last suggestion:

Clean the keyboard with a very, very damp rag, and a cotton swab (Q-TIP)
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.