keyboard just upped and stopped working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2010, 02:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Default keyboard just upped and stopped working

out of nowhere my keyboard stopped working... I tried using three other keyboards, did a system restore and restarted twice... and nothing worked. After hours of trying to fix it, out of nowhere it started working again!!!

makes no sense to me! so what happened? I would like to know what could have possibly happened so I can fix it if it happens again.

thanks,
dan
__________________

Danlennon3 is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 03:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: keyboard just upped and stopped working

First off, are you using PS2 or USB keyboards? Either way the answer may be a bad port. More likely in my humble opinion if it's a PS2 port. If they are USB then try another port.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: keyboard just upped and stopped working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitestick View Post
First off, are you using PS2 or USB keyboards? Either way the answer may be a bad port. More likely in my humble opinion if it's a PS2 port. If they are USB then try another port.
I tried using three other keyboards keyboard just upped and stopped workingaggain. please help. have to use on sceen keyboard. standard and usb keyboards dont work. i was worried this would happen, worst f-ing nitemare. where can i download sp3 cause i can not find it. last time nothing fixed it but randomly came back so i dont no wur to do
Danlennon3 is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 10:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: keyboard just upped and stopped working

Did you try shutting down, then attaching a keyboard, then start the computer up?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 10:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: keyboard just upped and stopped working

why why why!

i will try but last time it didnt work. i tried usb and standard port too
Danlennon3 is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 10:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: keyboard just upped and stopped working

ok this time it worked when I restarted... last time it didnt. while I still have the chance to type.... WHY is this happening?!?!? is it becuse of XP 64 bit???? xp64 bit has caused noting but problems. where can I get SP3??? before I restarted, no keyboards worked, whter it was the usb or standard.... so its definately the computer.

I can get a copied CD of windows 7... but when I first got the computer and tried to use a COPIED cd of windows xp64.... it did not wrk...I had to buy windows XP 64 for it to work, even though the copied CD worked on other computers... it wouldnt even read the copied CD.... I am afraid if I try to use the copied version of windows 7 it will do the same.... If I try to install the copied version of windows7 and it doesnt work... Im screwed because I cannot find the windows 64 CD... I cannot afford to buy windows 7.

Are there any suggestions? please help me! Thank you so much I really appreciate any help!!!

-Dan
Danlennon3 is offline  
Old 02-13-2010, 10:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: keyboard just upped and stopped working

A "copied" CD is considered warez, and not allowed in these forums.

x64 does not make a bit of difference. It just allows you to have above 4GB or RAM. I think it's the board that is your problem.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.