it keeps freezing... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2006, 07:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default it keeps freezing...

i got my new computer a little over a month and it kept getting worse and worse cause it kept freezing on me. i thought it was the video card so i shipped the old one back to the manufacture. i put an oldrer video card, until i get my new one. it froze on me the same way when i had the old video card in. i checked all the fans, and i even put new ram in.

can someone tell me whats wrong.
__________________

paintballdemon is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 08:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

What are you doing when the freeze accurs?
__________________

__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 08:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default

it used to be gaming, but now it freezes over the small things like coming back when theres a screen saver up (like after an hour)...
paintballdemon is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 08:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Check the temps using Speedfan.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 10:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Speedfan says its about 38C. i also have a temp reader on my case that says its 83F.

is that good?
paintballdemon is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 05:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, good temps.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 05:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Speedfan just went up to 53C for the processor, not even running a game

im guessing thats bad?
__________________

paintballdemon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.