Just upgraded CPU, having crashes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2009, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 119
Default Just upgraded CPU, having crashes

Just upgraded my CPU, 1066 FSB 2.4GHZ to 1333 FSB 3.0 GHZ

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
to
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Not exactly a ridiculously huge quantum leap in hardware but I'm suddenly having some instability issues especially in high power games (world or warcraft, team fortress). Game ran fine on Desktop for 2 hours before starting a game then I had a series of crashes.

I don't run anything overclocked. Voltages in bios are set to "AUTO." Memory timings AUTO. Most things are set to default or auto. The SLI memory setting in BIOS is set to CPU OC 0% so the SLI is enabled but the CPU isn't getting overclocked. PCIe speeds are set to 100 which is default.

Any ideas of things I could try to improve stability? Any obvious incompatibilities?

Thanks.


My specs for the record:

EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Mobo
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
700 Watt Thermaltake PSU
EVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16
__________________

buckman341 is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Just upgraded CPU, having crashes

I would put the old processor back in to see if it is the new processor causing this issue, or if perhaps there was another error in the system that just crept up at the same time as upgrading your CPU.

Can you check an error log?
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 119
Default Re: Just upgraded CPU, having crashes

What could I run to check or log errors? I had about 2 years of pretty flawlessly stable performance until this upgrade. Yeah it could be something else I suppose :X If it comes down to it I'll put the old CPU back in.
buckman341 is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Just upgraded CPU, having crashes

It could be that the system is starting to have the instabilities due to the hardware upgrade. Since it isnt the same hardware profile that Windows had for its install it could be the source of the issue.

Is this Windows XP? If so you could always try a Repair install.

How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Just upgraded CPU, having crashes

yes, like mak said..it's a hardware change. Anytime you change something major like CPU or motherboard you'll have to repair the install
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Just upgraded CPU, having crashes

did you take the battery out of the board for a few minutes before changing the chips.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Just upgraded CPU, having crashes

Or you might have to reset/flash the bios.
__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Just upgraded CPU, having crashes

try clearing cmos
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Just upgraded CPU, having crashes

sorry to say but i dont think that the 680i nb had "offical" support for the 45nm cpu's try a bios update, also what are your temps?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 11:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 119
Default Re: Just upgraded CPU, having crashes

I did not clear the CMOS but I will try that now.
I did set the option in bios (can't remember the name) to reset the configuration. Also reloaded default settings prior to that.

Temps are fine. CPU is running at 32C, MCP is a little hot at 57C, GPU at 53C which is about normal for my system. Case has plenty of ventilation and some pretty powerful fans, between 22C and 29C inside my case ambient.

Once I clear the CMOS I'll check for a bios update and also repair the install to be safe. I'll check back soon.
__________________

buckman341 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call of Duty 5 taking up ~100% CPU FrozenVirus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-11-2008 04:50 PM
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 11:20 PM
Upgraded only GFX card, CPU causing lag? FavouriteColour System Upgrades 20 10-23-2007 09:23 AM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.