juiceeee - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2007, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: oakland, ca
Posts: 3
Default juiceeee

Hi i have a problem with my hp 8430 laptop I recently let my freind borrow it and some how he spilt juice on the touch pad and part of the keyboard so i took the battery out and let it dry now the only way that it starts up is if i remove and reinstal the cmos backup battery but when i try to restart it again it freezes on the black screen where it says hp invent and the only way to start it again is to turn it off and remove and reinstall the cmos battery so if anyone can help me i would very much appreciate it.
__________________

JVasquez is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: juiceeee

1.check for any burnt marks on the motherboard
2.clean up the mess he made with a rag and try a different CMOS battery
3. Try unplugging the keyboard and starting her up, couple buttons might be still sticking in
4.kick his AS5 or tell him to get the motherboard replaced by a technician because it sounds fried if any Juice got on it.
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: oakland, ca
Posts: 3
Default Re: juiceeee

I already cleaned it and changed the cmos battery but like i said it only starts up when i pull the battery and put it back in which i think is pretty wierd also i already tried disconnecting and reconecting the keyboard and all the keys seem to work fine i also placed the hardrive on my other hp nc8430 and it works fine.
JVasquez is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 07:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: juiceeee

is there any juice spills on the motherboard ?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 08:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: oakland, ca
Posts: 3
Default Re: juiceeee

not that i can see but if the motherboard was fried would the computer still be able to boot and function normally as long as i pull and reinstall the cmos battery everytime. and thanx for your help.
JVasquez is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 10:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: juiceeee

to me sounds like the BIOS gotten corrupt or failing , so you tried a different battery and it didnt work, so i would right now flash the BIOS or/and pull out the RAM to clear up the system
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.