jetway motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2006, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default jetway motherboard

ok.. after my old mobo dying (asus a8n-e nforce4) which to say the least i was quite happy with i have just had to make a bit of an emergency purchase of a jetway 939gt4-sli-g.
and so far to be honest i've had nothing but trouble.
my latest problem is that after reinstalling windows on my main harddrive initially my secondary hard drive was showing up and i was able to access it but now for some unknown reason it isnt. when i got through computer management\storage to initialize the hd it comes up with an error message. kind of desperately need this as there is some work i need to access on this drive for tomorrow and its 2am..... any help would be much appreciated. if i do find myself sticking with this board i get the feeling i will become a constant presence on this forum.. in the shop i had the option of this board or a more expensive but non-sli (which i have been looking to upgrade to) gigabyte mobo.


Edit: sorry for the long read
__________________

gazvenn is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 07:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

what's the exact error message?
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 07:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jeremy
what's the exact error message?
yes, we can't say what the problem might be otherwise..

anyway, I would recommend, if you can, to get an MSI K8N family motherboard
the Neo4-F is quite a good motherboard, and is not expensive. it's not an SLI board though.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default

ok well now i cant even get as far as i was before.... when i leave the ide hdd connected to the computer it takes ages to boot to windows and then on boot just freezes the comp.
gazvenn is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default

all seems to be working fine again now i believe it to be a dodgy IDE driver on the mobo drivers disk.
gazvenn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.