Issues with new video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2010, 02:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23
Default Issues with new video card

Hello all,

I recently purchased a Radeon HD 5570 1GB
My motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-K8N Pro-Sli.

My issue is that the computer will not even recognize the video card. I'm curious as to whether or not if the video card is defective or if my motherboard is just unable to recognize it.

If it's the mobo that cannot read the video card, is there anyway I could update the bios or would I need to purchase a new video?

Thank you for your attention
__________________

LouisL is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 02:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Issues with new video card

I think you need to elaborate on what you mean by "not recognize"

Have you securely seated it in the slot, and pluged in the pci-e cable?

help us, so we can help you.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 03:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Issues with new video card

Yes, I've plugged in the video card in both pci slots and neither one was able to create a display on my monitor.

What I mean by not recognize is that the computer screen is completely black. It won't show anything boot up on the screen. The computer completely powers on, and I hear everything else running. Even the video card fan is running. I also put back my old video card and then everything was running. I then even removed the drivers of my previous video card and then reinstalled the HD 5570 but still nothing shows up. If you need anymore details, please let me know.

I have securely seated it in the slot, but there is no pci-e cable. The XFX radeon HD 5570, doesn't have the power slot.

http://www.frys.com/product/6252530?...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG
LouisL is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 03:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Issues with new video card

Are you sure it's actually booting? Sorry, don't know youre techy level.... Do you get any beeps on boot?

What size psu?

As a check, you could put your old card back in and double check you didn't accidently bump something loose.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 03:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Issues with new video card

Yes, I'm fairly sure it's booting up. I have placed my old video card back in and everything is running fine. So, I didn't mess anything up within my tower. I'm just afraid that my mobo is not compatible with this video card.

My PSU is 520 Watts.
Newegg.com - OCZ ModStream OCZ52012U 520W ATX / BTX Modular Active PFC Power Supply

My Processor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103562
LouisL is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Issues with new video card

Whats your monitor?
Theres been past issues with the dvi/anolog connections and cables.


If the card didn't work, you wouldn't boot at all, as long as its a pci-e iut should be fine.

Try this.. Put the old card in 1 slot and connect the screen, new card in slot 2, It shouldn't matter about sli. boot up, and look in the control panels for the card.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 04:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default Re: Issues with new video card

Your specs should be able to take that card, try out patonb suggestion and see the output. I would RMA the card for DOA if all else fails.
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 04:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Issues with new video card

Okay, I tried the 2 video cards. Plugged in the monitor to the old video card but it's still pitch black, the display is not coming up.

My biggest
LouisL is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 06:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Issues with new video card

Did you turn on the monitor

Its most likely something dumb.... What port are you using? DVI or Analog? or HDMI?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 11:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Issues with new video card

Haha, yeah the monitor is definitely on.

I'm using analog, hmm. I'll try out the dvi connection, but if I do go with dvi its going to be the adapter that goes ontop of analog.
__________________

LouisL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Visual c++ error GG1972 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-13-2009 10:52 PM
Bad video card? 35g700 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 01-20-2009 12:36 PM
Video Upconverting software EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 09-25-2008 11:40 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.