Issues getting DVI monitor running on new PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2013, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Default Issues getting DVI monitor running on new PC

I'm knee deep in the standard parental support duty.

The PC is based around a Haswell mainboard - Asus Z87-K. HE does a chunk of photography work and has a high res screen, and I figured the extra oomph in the 4600 couldn't hurt, allowing him not to need discrete graphics.

However I'm struggling. His monitor is a Hazro HZ27WC. This has only DVI, and when I hook it up, its not giving me a picture. However the power light goes solid and I'm seeing the backlight come on, so it does seem to be detecting a signal. If I then connect a standard monitor via analogue VGA, that comes up immediately and the power light on the Hazro starts flashing.

If I then go into the display config screen in W7, its showing both screens, but the options on the "Digital" display are all greyed out.

I tried swapping across the GPU from his old PC, but I'm having no luck there either.

I am sometimes seeing the W7 boot "progress bar" come up, but nothing more.

Now I know the Hazro lacks a scaler, so I'm not sure how well it plays at other resolutions outside native. However as I can't seem to change the settings in dual screen mode, I'm a bit stuck.

Its been a few years since I did serious PC Support, but I like to think I can work through most issues, but this one has me really stumped...

Anything obvious I'm doing wrong?

nuuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
FuzzyHarpyBug's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Issues getting DVI monitor running on new PC

So, I see you get the Windows 7 progress bar occasionally, but do you see any of the BIOS startup before that? Also, have you played around with the adjustment controls on the monitor itself? Try booting the computer up with the VGA monitor first, after it is fully booted, disconnect the VGA monitor and connect the DVI, if it doesn't come up after 30 seconds or so, try the auto adjust function on the monitor.
FuzzyHarpyBug is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.