'This isn't my IP address' - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2006, 10:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 63
Default 'This isn't my IP address'

My parents got a laptop today, and a wireless network has been set up between this computer and the laptop for the broadband internet connection via a ROUTER

Everything has been fine, but when I went to make a server for BF2, he couldn't join my server. This was because the IP was funny?

(The way I get my IP is through AOL messenger, I right click a chat box then goto Insert, then IP address. )

I usually get an IP beginning with 80 something (two, two digit numbers, and two, three digit numbers IIRC)

But I got this instead:

192.168.1.2


What on earth?

I take it this has something to do with the wireless network thing that was set up no doubt.


Next I booted up CSS and entered status into console, for the IP, and I got this too...


udp/ip : 192.168.1.2:27015

That number again. What's this stupid number?

So I can't create servers anymore then....
__________________

simonsayers is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 10:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

www.whatismyip.com what does that say? They may have put a invisble proxy.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

that 192.168.1.2 is the IP the router has assigned.

You can go to the site trifid linked, or log into the router and you should be able to see your the IP given to you by the ISP.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 10:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 63
Default

It displays my IP on those sites fine.

But when i create servers on games it displays the router's IP.
__________________
Joomla design
simonsayers is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 11:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

just tell your friend the ip on the site and forward the ports the game requires.
__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 12:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Your router assigns you on a private network which starts with 192.168.xxx.xxx or 10.xxx.xxx.xxx
turtile is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

...Yep, here's a diagram:



Your router has something called NAT, which basically allows more than one PC to share one IP Address, and to be connected to the Internet safely.

In your network setup, you have internal IP addresses (assigned to the PCs in your wireless network) and an external IP address, which your router advertises on the internet.

Everyone outside of your network will see this external IP, and not the internal addresses.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 01:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 63
Default

How would I go about getting back my original 80 something IP adress then?
__________________
Joomla design
simonsayers is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 02:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by simonsayers
How would I go about getting back my original 80 something IP adress then?
Hello,

The only way of assigning the original IP address to your PC is by removing your wireless network altogether, and connecting your modem directly to your PC. However, this would mean that your other computer's won't be able to connect to the Internet, or communicate between each other.

Or alternatively, getting a seperate Internet connection (seperate line) for each PC, thereby giving each PC it's own external IP address. But this is costly, and pointless as your wireless network is supposed to allow multiple PCs to share one Internet connection (to share one Internet connection or in other words, one external IP address).

As already mentioned, to get around this, you need to use port forwarding in your router's settings. It's there for situations like this. It can be a pain at times, and you need to know what ports applications and programs require, and where to forward it to. In your case, you need to forward the BF2 ports to your PC's IP Address.

This is the only safe way, without exposing all ports on the LAN to external clients, and without having to purchase more than one Internet connection.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.