IRQL_NOT_MORE_OR_LESS error...is it RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2008, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 59
Default IRQL_NOT_MORE_OR_LESS error...is it RAM?

I was recently playing TF2 last night, when all of a sudden my computer BSOD's into this error. So i shut my computer off and tried to restart it, but upon restart I couldn't even get my computer to start up to the bios info screen. It just stays on not doing anything. I looked at the code on the motherboard and it has said 1d and C1, both of which have to do with the memory. I have no way of running memtest on the computer since I can't even get into windows...But it looks to me like its really a bad ram problem? ANy one have suggestions?
__________________

weezerguy187 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 04:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: IRQL_NOT_MORE_OR_LESS error...is it RAM?

9 times out of 10 it's a dodgy RAM stick. Try them one at a time.

Failing that whup out everything that you can and add piece by piece.

It's a pain when that happens.
__________________

__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: IRQL_NOT_MORE_OR_LESS error...is it RAM?

Had this issue, and my issue was too low RAM voltage... Crucial Ballistic needs more juice turns out.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
RAM Question b0bby System Upgrades 9 04-21-2008 11:32 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.