Internet randomly cutt off - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2013, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States of America
Posts: 146
Default Internet randomly cutt off

Hello. Recently, my internet has been randomly cutting off. When I restart my computer, it comes back. My laptop, which shares the connection doesn't have this problem though, only my desktop. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

kidmo87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Internet randomly cutt off

Wired or wireless?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States of America
Posts: 146
Default Re: Internet randomly cutt off

sorry, its wireless
kidmo87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: United States of America
Posts: 146
Default Re: Internet randomly cutt off

dang im sorry, I meant wired
kidmo87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Internet randomly cutt off

Hi,

What's your current network set-up (topology)? Do you have a home network with multiple computers connected to a wired or wireless router, and all sharing a single Internet connection?

Do you have DHCP (automatic attainment of IP addresses and settings) enabled for your Ethernet LAN network adapter on your desktop PC?

Assuming you have a Windows desktop computer, could you provide a dump / full screenshot of your IP configuration by going to:
  1. Start > Run (or alternatively, press Windows Key + R simultaneously).
  2. Type cmd in the Run open box and hit enter.
  3. Once command prompt appears, type ipconfig /all and hit enter.
  4. Take a full screen-shot of the output and attach to a reply post, or alternatively, copy and paste the outputted text by right clicking anywhere within the command prompt window to bring up the context menu, then click select all in the menu list, hit enter, then paste the text in a reply post.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.