intermitant 1Tb hard drive with sensitive data? Do I destroy or Do I RMA? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: What would you do?
Send the drive off to RMA. RMA staff are trustworthy 1 14.29%
If I can not low level format the drive, destroy it even though it's still under warranty 6 85.71%
Voters: 7. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2010, 10:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default intermitant 1Tb hard drive with sensitive data? Do I destroy or Do I RMA?

Here is a problem that I was faced with this week. I got a 1Tb hard drive. It is intermitant as it will suddenly disappear from my system. Partition disappears from window and I am unable to detect the drive in BIOS.

To make matters worst, the last 10 years of my sensitive data is this drive. Least sensitive is my contacts and my emails. This is followed by serial numbers and activation keys for legit software which I have purchased. Then we have log in details for verios websites ranging from MMORPG logins to PayPal to Domain name keys. And to top is all off, all my Tax details, payslips, bills etc etc etc.

Thankfully I have been smart enough to back this drive up. And this drive is still under warranty with the manufacture.

If you were faced with this problem, what would you do?


Also any suggestions in order to get this drive to boot long enough so I can low level format it?
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 08-22-2010, 11:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: intermitant 1Tb hard drive with sensitive data? Do I destroy or Do I RMA?

Quite honestly if you cant low level format the drive i would straight up destroy it with a couple of sledge hammers. Having that kind of sensitive data on there is not worth the risk. The only other option i can think of is trying to find the exact same make and model of the drive and replacing the board on the drive. This may allow the drive to continue to work. you may even be able to do it with enough care to be able to return the drive or RMA that one for repair.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 10:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: PA, United States
Posts: 10
Default Re: intermitant 1Tb hard drive with sensitive data? Do I destroy or Do I RMA?

R-Studio always works wonders for data recovery, but being as though you have your data backed up, you should be fine, although for security, i would run wipedrive or anything else to make sure your data is gone before you rma it.
rootkit is offline  
Old 09-11-2010, 02:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: intermitant 1Tb hard drive with sensitive data? Do I destroy or Do I RMA?

Secure erase is free and zeros the drive to DOD standards. As long as your bios recognizes the drive you should be able to make it work.
rsh123 is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 02:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 5
Default Re: intermitant 1Tb hard drive with sensitive data? Do I destroy or Do I RMA?

Well, if you're taking a poll, I vote with Mak213, just flat out destroy the drive. If it's to the point that BIOS won't consistently recognize it and you already have the data backed up, 1TB drives aren't worth enough to risk all that sensitive data. Although, instead of a sledge hammer, I've always preferred a nice large electric drill. :-)
fantompwr is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 02:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: intermitant 1Tb hard drive with sensitive data? Do I destroy or Do I RMA?

Ya I'm going to have to agree if you can't format it or wipe it to a degree of comfort your best choice is destroy it. But Mak made a really good suggestion to replace the board and return the bad board on the new drive. So that might be an option but... its all you as far as what happens.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 05:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: intermitant 1Tb hard drive with sensitive data? Do I destroy or Do I RMA?

tried a boot disk like boot and nuke?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 09-15-2010, 02:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: intermitant 1Tb hard drive with sensitive data? Do I destroy or Do I RMA?

Id wipe the drive out and RMA it, most 1/0 writes are secure enough.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between Hard drive(hdd) and data hard drive(hdd2) LoNeWoLfe System Upgrades 2 05-06-2009 08:35 AM
U.S. Health Agency Forbids Sensitive Data On MacBooks Osiris Apple and Mac 7 04-12-2008 09:24 PM
Patition Magic destroy my data madking153 Microsoft Windows and Software 11 01-17-2005 12:51 PM
Move 30GB Hard Drive Data To New 120GB Hard Drive DavidWatersUGP Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 11-19-2004 07:24 PM
sensitive data mjsmolko Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-27-2004 06:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.