interesting problem, related to my graphics card (i think) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2007, 11:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 21
Default interesting problem, related to my graphics card (i think)

recently, i received an unusual error: my monitor swtiched off and displayed this message:

"ATTENTION
INPUT SIGNAL
IS OUT OF RANGE
H: 18.6KHZ
V: 23.1 HZ
PLEASE CHANGE
SIGNAL TIMING
"

although my computer remained swtiched on, it was rendered useless

more recently, this error messaged stopped appearing, and the computer simply froze; but still remained switched on

i thought this odd, so i decided to open my computer up and have a look. i focused on the graphics card (ati radeon 9800 pro) and noticed that the fan was covered in thick dust; it was also extremely hot

so, i removed the card and replaced it with my old one (nvidia geforce mx 440) and the problems have stopped; the computer seems to be fine

my only thought is that the radeon's fan has packed up, it's overheating and thus turning itself off as a precaution

does this seem logical?

if it is the fan, how easy is it to replace?
__________________

dweeb is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 12:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: interesting problem, related to my graphics card (i think)

it is logical that that's the cause. i can't say how easy it is to replace the fan without seeing the card. you could probably get away with thoroughly cleaning out the dust, reseating the heatsink using some arctic silver 5 (if you have no clue what that means just ask) and putting some oil in the fan (again just ask......)
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 49
Default Re: interesting problem, related to my graphics card (i think)

Why would you buy another one if you can clean the one you have? clean it clean it clean it
__________________
http://www.EnvisionComp.com
CompShack is offline  
Old 04-02-2007, 09:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default Re: interesting problem, related to my graphics card (i think)

its not due to the graphics card causing that, its the fact that another monitor (bigger) was attached to your pc and set to a high resolution then switched back to a smaller monitor, same thing happened when my friend unhooked his monitor at his house (19'' @ 1280x1024) and hooked a 15 inch monitor up to it with a max resolution of 1024x768.
Maxx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed new graphics card, now pc won't turn on... capa2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-02-2007 06:42 PM
graphics card temperature program Nick Overclocking and Modding 6 04-02-2007 01:17 PM
Graphics card issues Mkilbride Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 03-31-2007 09:38 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.