Interesting problem...need outside of the box opinions! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 04-15-2007, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie

Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default Interesting problem...need outside of the box opinions!

Okay I am a systems analyst for a living. I know PC's...at least I thought I did.

My parents PC broke the other day. The monitor is essentially not being recognized by the PC anymore. The PC was powered on, but no monitor signal, it was in "power save mode" as in system stand-by basically. So I rebooted and got the same thing. So to make sure my new dell 17" LCD I gave them wasn't dead I tried another known working screen, still the same issue.

So- the PC runs a video card and onboard graphics...neither will pick up the monitor. Wierd...so I take out the HD and clean it off to see if OS got corrupted or a virus perhaps is stopping something from working properly. Turns out...nope, not the HD, it works perfect still. So I check video card, nah it works fine. Then I noticed the PSU fan stopped spinning. So I said okay, easy-fix, and replaced the PSU with an identical one from one of my parts machines that happens to be the same model HP tower.

Still no luck after new power supply. So...then I figure what the ****, perhaps the motherboard fired itself or something...but the machine still powers on normally...still no idea why. So I change the tower and mix 2 towers into a new one with a DIFFERENT motherboard, different hard drive, different optical drives and everything.

I plug up the tower and the SAME ISSUE happens. ON A DIFF MOBO!?!? So now I'm perplexed...2 "known" working monitors will not get a signal and turn on for either tower, which have different motherboards. Either through graphics card or onboard neither work.