interesting problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2006, 04:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Default interesting problem

hi. this is my current rig:

amd athlon 64 3000+ (oc'd slightly)
nvidia dual core 6600GT
160gb maxtor
80gb maxtor
1gb 3200 DDR

I have a problem of the pc restarting.....sometimes when im plaaying battlefield 2 it freezes then i have to do a hrd reset. I was wandering could this be a power issue? i only have a 200 watt supply....i was considering upgrading but thought not. I also have 2 uv cold cathodes and fans running off the PSU. Any help would be great...
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 04:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

im guessing your overclock isn't stable enought. I am not a pro at overclocking at all so i would wait for someone with some adivce.

Or it could be a temperature problem.
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 05:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Default

well the overclocks been stable for ages....and it still does it if i reset the bios to default....its strange.........it doesnt do the bsod either...
__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 06:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

definitely sounds like power to me!!!
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 03:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Default

ok so i went out and bought a brand new 400 watt psu and i still have the same problem.......any 1 get any great ideas?
__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 01:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

how long are u playing it before is messes up?
__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 02:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

200W is definately not enough for that system
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

are you able to montor temperature on the athlon and the 6600? If you have bought a new psu, my second verdict would be temperature.
joshd is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Default

ok well now i cant even get into playing it....it loads the map then you click to join game and it crashes......has crashed once wen loading map....
temps on the other hand...

athlon = 39
6600 = 51
__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 07:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

i think the 6600 needs at least 350watt power supply so i dont even know how ur comp didnt have more problems
__________________

Danny64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.