Intel E8400 Temps - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2009, 10:42 PM   #11 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Intel E8400 Temps

Yeah the voltage reading BIOS isn't very reliable as it sometimes includes what's called v-droop. Whatever you set the voltage to it is usually anywhere from .01v-.05v off of the actual voltage. I would leave it until you get Windows.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 10:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Intel E8400 Temps

download coretemp, say vid: that is what u need to set your cpu voltage at if its at stock settings.
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 10:50 PM   #13 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Intel E8400 Temps

stalin read his previous post...

He has no OS so therefore he can't use anything yet.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 10:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: Intel E8400 Temps

And how do I adjust the voltage? Using CPU-Z?
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 11:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Intel E8400 Temps

you have to adjust your voltage through the advanced settings in your bios
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 11:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: Intel E8400 Temps

In BIOS, it's showing my voltage is at 1.208, and after leaving the PC running for about 20 mins, my temps are around 41C for CPU and 27C for MB..
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 11:50 PM   #17 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Intel E8400 Temps

Leave it at that voltage. Anything lower can cause a bit of instability and your temps are good.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 12:01 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 312
Default Re: Intel E8400 Temps

Alright, thanks a lot!
__________________
Antec 300
MSi P67A-C43
Intel Core i5-2500k
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Corsair Vengeance 8 GB (DDR3 1600) Ram
Seagate Barracuda 1TB
eVGA GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1GB SC
Acer G235H 23" LCD (1920x1080)
Corsair TX750
Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Skiller. is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 12:03 AM   #19 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Intel E8400 Temps

No problem glad to help .
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 12:09 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Intel E8400 Temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
stalin read his previous post...

He has no OS so therefore he can't use anything yet.
whoops missed that.
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech-Forums Recommended PC Components v2.0 Puddle Jumper New Systems | Building and Buying 76 07-27-2009 02:36 AM
Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur) kenny536 System Upgrades 32 03-11-2009 01:25 PM
On January 18, Intel will release E5300, E5400, E7500, and 65W TDP Quad !! maroon1 New Technology and Products 7 11-20-2008 09:01 AM
p35-DS3R and e8400? Peter.Cort New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-15-2008 12:42 AM
Intel Demonstrates First 32nm Chip and Next-Generation Nehalem Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 09-20-2007 01:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.