Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2008, 10:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck.

Hi,

My CPU (Wolfdale E8400 3.0GHz fsb1333) is registering at only 2.0GHz on CPU-z.
In Bios it is labeled as 3.0GHz though. I'm guessing this is a power saving issue, but I booted up Company of Heroes, Unreal III, and crysis (all in-game and simotaniusly ) and CPU-z still said it was operating at 2.0GHz.

Help me please. I'm really hating this. I'm also running Vista ultimate on 64bit.
__________________

stb1swat is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck.

I'm running an underclocked E8400 @2.5ghz

CPU-Z for me says: multiplier x 9.0, Bus speed 278(overclocked from 266), Rated FSB 1114mhz.

Does the bios detect the cpu correctly? I'd check to see if there is a newer bios.
__________________

KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 11:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck.

My multiplier is at 6. So 333x6 is basically a 2.0GHz. It registers correctly in bios. I mean...I guess games just dont need 3.0Ghz....I still would like to disable those power managements.
My FSB is running at 1336.7 so thats correct.

It sounds like your CPU is showing a little off, but i guess if its underclocked.
stb1swat is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 11:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck.

turn off E1ST and thermal throttling in the BIOS. I personally turn all of the cpu features off. They are just make it so that when your cpu isnt being heavily used, it clocks down.
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 11:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck.

My old bios showed a multiplier of 6. A newer bios shows the correct multiplier of 9. My motherboard only supports a FSB of 1066mhz.

It makes sense if throttling is done by adjusting the multiplier.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 04:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck.

I tried turning off the power management stuff, but it would never boot. It kept returning to the motherboard boot-up.

I'm running the first bios, should I update?
stb1swat is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 04:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck.

What's your motherboard model? It may help to update to latest bios, but only if you feel it's safe to do so. At least have the bios settings set to where you can boot and run programs before you attempt flash the bios.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 06:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck.

Its an MSI P43. At the moment its at my friends house down the street, otherwise I'd tell you the bios version.

I really don't like this board.
stb1swat is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 06:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck.

CPU Speed Changing? Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained

Usually a good amount of questions are answered in stickes

as for the no POST are you 100% sure you didn't mess with anything else? If its not too late sell that board for something else?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 06:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
stb1swat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mexico during school. Washington during summer.
Posts: 728
Default Re: Intel E8400 running at 2.0GHz .teh suck.

Well I believe its been like this since the beginning...I have switched over to vista in the time I've owned the products, but no...nothing drastic has been changed.

Something else I should mention. My CPU is running at 80-85 celsius!
This is...bad right?
__________________

stb1swat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running XFX nForce 780i W/ Intel Q6600 2.4 GHz-> PROBLEMS. ckiller22 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-07-2008 05:08 AM
Intel Demonstrates First 32nm Chip and Next-Generation Nehalem Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 09-20-2007 01:07 AM
Intel Core 2 Duo: E6400 Only running at 1.6GHz?? shigur Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-03-2007 01:15 AM
Intel future processors will be lead-free and environmentally friendly maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-23-2007 11:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.